Our take: Choose Dial if you are building an AI agent that must hold a real phone number for voice calls, SMS, WhatsApp, iMessage or OTP codes, paying per use from $3 per month per number with $5 starting credit and no card.
Main limitation: Until the first top-up, free accounts are capped at 5 minutes per call and 2 concurrent calls, and every number is billed monthly on top of usage.
By the AI Tool Atlas editors.
Based on the vendor's official documentation; we have not tested this product hands-on. What “documented overview” means
Who should use Dial
Choose Dial if you are building an AI agent that must hold a real phone number for voice calls, SMS, WhatsApp, iMessage or OTP codes, paying per use from $3 per month per number with $5 starting credit and no card. Based on the vendor's documentation, not on a hands-on test.
Best for: Developers building agents that need phone access
Also a good fit for
Automation teams handling OTP verification
Voice-agent builders
Consider another tool if free accounts capped at 5 minutes per call and 2 concurrent calls until first top-up
Or if
Each number costs $3/mo on top of usage
iMessage-enabled numbers cost $250/mo
Dial in the news
Headlines from US outlets, selected automatically — not endorsements. Updated Oct 2, 2026
10DLC / A2P registration carries an additional one-time fee and takes 3-5 business days; iMessage messages are free on an iMessage number.
Not stated; all prices in USD.
What is Dial, and how does it work?
Dial gives AI agents a real phone identity. Through a REST API, Node and Python SDKs, a CLI and an MCP server, an agent can rent a phone number, place AI voice calls with live transcription, send and receive SMS and WhatsApp messages, and receive verification codes for 2FA/OTP flows.
The service is metered: numbers are billed monthly and calls and messages per unit, with a small starting credit for new accounts. Integrations are documented for LangChain, Vercel AI SDK, CrewAI, AutoGen and Microsoft Agent Framework, and the MCP server targets Claude, Cursor and ChatGPT.
Dial's official site: how the product presents itself. getdial.ai, captured Oct 1, 2026
What you provide and what you get back
What you give Dial and what comes back, from its documentation
You provide
Outbound call instruction text
Destination phone number
Message text for SMS/WhatsApp/iMessage
Inbound calls and messages
You get back
Live call with transcript
Delivered messages
Unified webhook events
OTP codes received
Where you can use it
Platforms
Web, API
Account
Required
Channels
Voice, SMS, iMessage, WhatsApp, OTP codes
Call modes
Self-hosted (own LLM over WebSocket) and managed
SMS tiers
7 tiers, $0.02 to $1.00 per message
SDKs
Node.js, Python, CLI, MCP
Best use cases for Dial
Scenarios are worked out by our editors from the documentation; the actual result depends on your input and plan.
Letting an agent pass phone verification (OTP/2FA) on sign-ups
Who
Agent developers
You provide
A Dial number and an agent that signs up for services
Feature overview on the official site. getdial.ai, captured Oct 1, 2026
Rentable phone numbers ($3/mo standard)
Provisions a real number through one API call and assigns it to your account so the agent can use it for every channel. Gives the agent a phone identity in seconds
Receives the verification message sent to the number and exposes it to the agent via API or MCP so it can complete sign-up. Automates phone verification
$5 starting credit without a credit card You can test calls and SMS before paying.documentedsource (opens in a new tab)
Pay-as-you-go metering with no contracts Costs scale with use and no contract is needed.documentedsource (opens in a new tab)
Multiple integration paths (API, SDK, CLI, MCP) Fits agents in Claude Code, Cursor or custom code.documentedsource (opens in a new tab)
Public per-unit pricing incl. US SMS rate You can estimate cost per SMS before building.documentedsource (opens in a new tab)
Check before paying for Dial
Free accounts capped at 5 minutes per call and 2 concurrent calls until first top-up Long calls on a new account are cut off until a top-up.documentedsource (opens in a new tab)
Each number costs $3/mo on top of usage Idle numbers still incur monthly charges.documentedsource (opens in a new tab)
iMessage-enabled numbers cost $250/mo iMessage use is costly for small projects.documentedsource (opens in a new tab)
Managed calls cost $0.22/min Managed calls cost about 70 percent more per minute than self-hosted.documentedsource (opens in a new tab)
How to use Dial for giving an AI agent a phone number and placing a call
Set up Dial
On getdial.ai click Get started to claim the $5 free credit, no credit card
Either paste the homepage prompt (Follow getdial.ai/skills.md) into Claude Code or Cursor, or add the Dial MCP server, or run npm install @getdial/sdk
Create an API key and set it as DIAL_API_KEY
Provision a phone number (standard $3/mo) and list it with listNumbers
Example: giving an AI agent a phone number and placing a call
Create new DialClient with the API key and fetch your number
Call makeCall with to, fromNumberId and an outboundInstruction describing the goal and limits
Open newEventsConnection and wait for the call.ended event
Read the transcript with getCall
Review and export the result
Confirm the call ended event and the transcript show the instructed outcome
Check balance and the per-minute charge ($0.13 self-hosted or $0.22 managed) against your credit
Confirm inbound SMS or replies arrive at your unified webhook
Example prompt suggested by our editors (not a recorded output of the product)
Get yourself a Dial phone number and call me. Say hello and that setup is working, then ask if I have any questions.
Dial integrations and API
Plan comparison on the official pricing page. getdial.ai, captured Oct 1, 2026
Native integrations and export formats
Export: Webhook events, Call transcripts
API access and separate billing
Dial has no public API in its official documentation. getdial.ai/docs returned 404; docs.getdial.ai is linked from seed API documentation ↗
Privacy, data use and commercial rights
Summarized from the vendor's current policies; this is not legal advice and a vendor's badge is not an independent audit.
How your inputs and outputs are handled
Call audio, message content and transcripts pass through Dial, hosted in the US and processed for the customer under a DPA; transcription uses a third-party provider.
Policy states it does not train AI models on call recordings, message content or transcripts.
Not stated in the policy excerpt.
Commercial use and plan restrictions
Not stated.
Controls for business users
SOC 2 (AICPA), GDPR, CCPA and HIPAA compliance badges on homepage
What does one phone number cost compared with usage?
A standard number is $3.00 per month, an iMessage-enabled number $250.00 per month, plus per-use charges: calls $0.13/min self-hosted or $0.22/min managed, US SMS $0.02 per message. source (opens in a new tab)
What is the difference between self-hosted and managed calls?
Self-hosted calls use your own LLM exchanging text over WebSocket ($0.13/min); managed calls run on a Dial-hosted model end to end ($0.22/min). source (opens in a new tab)
How is SMS priced outside the US?
Destinations fall into seven tiers from $0.02 (US and Canada) through $0.10, $0.20, $0.30, $0.40, $0.50 up to $1.00 per message for high-cost destinations. source (opens in a new tab)
Does Dial train AI on my calls and messages?
No. Its privacy policy says call recordings, message content and transcripts are not used to train or fine-tune models. source (opens in a new tab)
What limits apply to a new free account?
Calls are capped at 5 minutes and 2 can run concurrently until the first top-up; the account starts with $5 of credit and needs no card. source (opens in a new tab)
Sources and review methodology
Official sources and verification dates
Dial homepagehomepage · checked Oct 1, 2026 · capabilities, SDK example, FAQ
Dial Pricingpricing · checked Oct 1, 2026 · line items, regional SMS tiers
Dial Privacy Policypolicy · checked Oct 1, 2026 · data collected, AI training
Not verified: Supported countries for number provisioning; Retention period for recordings; Exact free-account call caps source (seed); Enterprise price.
How we documented and maintain this page
Every fact about Dial above comes from the 3 official pages listed here, last compared on Oct 1, 2026; we have not run Dial ourselves, so it has no editorial score. How we check and re-check pages.
Article updated Oct 10, 2026; prices checked Oct 1, 2026. Outbound links to vendors are plain links; we do not earn commissions. How we review · Report an error