Free web
Free source (opens in a new tab)
Month
For: Mobile dictation
Limits
- Mobile only
- 2 read-aloud voices
Includes
- Voice typing
- Voice notes with local search
1 more
- No account needed
Audio & voiceDocumented overviewLast checked Oct 1, 2026
Private on-device AI app for dictation, read-aloud, meeting notes, transcription and translation on desktop and mobile.
(open full size in a new tab)
(open full size in a new tab)
(open full size in a new tab)
(open full size in a new tab)
(open full size in a new tab)Our take: Yaps suits privacy-minded users who want dictation, read-aloud, notes and transcription to run on their own device, free on mobile and from $12/month billed annually on desktop.
Main limitation: The free plan is mobile only, desktop requires Pro, and Pro is $12/month only when billed annually ($15 monthly).
Yaps suits privacy-minded users who want dictation, read-aloud, notes and transcription to run on their own device, free on mobile and from $12/month billed annually on desktop. Based on the vendor's documentation, not on a hands-on test.
Also a good fit for
Or if
Prices checked Oct 1, 2026 on the official US pricing page. Official pricing ↗ Prices and limits change often.

Free forever on mobile.
7-day free trial of Pro on desktop.
Free source (opens in a new tab)
Month
For: Mobile dictation
Limits
Includes
$15/mo source (opens in a new tab)
Month
$12/month billed annually
For: Desktop power users
Limits
Includes
Custom pricing source (opens in a new tab)
Unknown
For: Teams
Includes
Not stated.
Not stated.
Yaps is an app that runs speech and note tools on the user's own device, covering dictation, text to speech, voice notes, transcription, captions and translation. A free tier covers mobile voice typing and notes; a paid Pro plan adds the desktop apps for Windows, macOS and Linux, with a 7-day trial.

You provide
You get back
Scenarios are worked out by our editors from the documentation; the actual result depends on your input and plan.

Dictates into any app using on-device models Keeps voice data local
Reads documents aloud with 18 on-device voices Turns text into audio
Transcribes audio and video files and exports SRT captions Creates text and subtitles offline
Lets you chat with notes answered on your device Searches your notes by question

Export: SRT, Text
Yaps has no public API in its official documentation. None mentioned
Summarized from the vendor's current policies; this is not legal advice and a vendor's badge is not an independent audit.
Processing runs on-device; content stays on your machines.
Not stated.
Local storage; account features need internet.
Not stated.
Not stated.
"Better suited" is based on documented features and pricing, not on a head-to-head test.
| Alternative | When to choose it | Pricing | Limitation | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| ElevenLabs | — | — | Compare | |
| Otter.ai | — | — | Compare | |
| Descript | — | — |
No user reviews yet.
Used Yaps? Be the first to share your experience.
Yes; core dictation, notes and offline voices work without internet once local models are installed. source (opens in a new tab)
$12 per month billed annually or $15 per month billed monthly. source (opens in a new tab)
Voice typing, voice notes with local search and 2 read-aloud voices on Android, iPhone and iPad, no account. source (opens in a new tab)
In the app under Account > Subscription; access lasts to the end of the billing period. source (opens in a new tab)
You and your friend each earn one free month when they start Pro, stacking up to 12 months. source (opens in a new tab)
Not verified: Privacy policy page; US availability.
Every fact about Yaps above comes from the 2 official pages listed here, last compared on Oct 1, 2026; we have not run Yaps ourselves, so it has no editorial score. How we check and re-check pages.
Article updated Oct 10, 2026; prices checked Oct 1, 2026. Outbound links to vendors are plain links; we do not earn commissions. How we review · Report an error
compare>