Head-to-head · profiles checked Oct 2, 2026

Cline vs Cursor in 2026: open-source agent or paid AI editor

Pick Cline for an open-source agent that uses your own model keys, and Cursor for a subscription AI editor with agents built in. Cline's extension is free and ClinePass is $9.99 per month, with inference billed by your provider. Cursor has a free Hobby plan, Individual at $20/mo and Teams at $40 per user per month, with usage past the included amount billed on demand.

Starting priceFree; ClinePass $9.99/mo · Free; Individual $20/moCline · Cursor
Free tierYes · YesCline · Cursor
Plans documented3 · 5Cline · Cursor
PlatformsDesktop app, CLI, VS Code, JetBrains, SDK · Desktop app, CLI, Slack, GitHubCline · Cursor

We based this comparison on our Cline profile verified 2026-10-02 and our Cursor profile verified 2026-09-29, both built from official vendor pages; it uses no third-party benchmarks and no vendor paid for placement.

Is Cline better than Cursor? The short answer

Cline is the choice if you want an open-source (Apache 2.0) coding agent that works with your own model keys and runs in VS Code, the terminal or a desktop app; the tool is free and you pay the model provider for inference. Cursor is the choice if you want one subscription editor with agents, cloud agents and Bugbot code review, starting free on Hobby and $20/mo on Individual. Cursor's Pro+ and Ultra prices and data retention terms were not stated on the pages we read, and Cline's retention and training terms were not stated either. Teams that need SSO can find it on both, but Cline's SSO sits behind a contact-sales Enterprise plan.

Based on our Cline profile verified 2026-10-02 and Cursor profile verified 2026-09-29; no benchmark was run, and retention, Cursor Pro+ and Ultra prices and Cursor API billing were not stated on the pages we read.

Cline and Cursor, as their sites look today

Our own captures of each vendor's public pages. Click a frame for the full-size image.

Cline homepage — screenshot of the coding AI tool, Oct 29, 2026
Cline homepage. cline.bot, captured Oct 29, 2026
Cursor homepage — screenshot of the coding AI tool, Oct 1, 2026
Cursor homepage. cursor.com, captured Oct 1, 2026
Cline pricing page with plans and prices — screenshot of the coding AI tool, Oct 29, 2026
Cline plans and prices. cline.bot, captured Oct 29, 2026
Cursor pricing page with plans and prices — screenshot of the coding AI tool, Oct 1, 2026
Cursor plans and prices. cursor.com, captured Oct 1, 2026

Cline or Cursor: which to use, by task

If you only want the answer, this is the table. Everything below is the evidence from the two documented profiles.

Side-by-side comparison
You want toUseWhy
Try an AI coding agent for freeEitherCline's extension is free but needs your own model access; Cursor Hobby is free with limited Agent requests
Use my own API keys and pick any modelClineCline lists bring-your-own-key use with Anthropic, OpenAI, Google, DeepSeek and local models
Refactor a function across many filesEitherCline edits multiple files with diffs and checkpoints; Cursor lists code edits shown as diffs
Review a plan before the agent edits codeClineCline has Plan and Act modes with per-step approval
Run agents in the cloud while my laptop is offCursorCursor lists cloud agents on their own cloud computers; Cline's profile lists none
Get automated pull request reviewsCursorCursor lists Bugbot, included on Teams and usage-billed on Individual
Run an agent from scripts and CIClineCline documents CLI use from scripts, cron and CI, plus an SDK
Work from Slack or GitHubCursorCursor lists Slack and GitHub as surfaces alongside the desktop app and CLI
Use it in JetBrainsEitherCline's JetBrains extension needs Enterprise; Cursor docs list JetBrains integration
Roll out SSO to a teamEitherCline offers SSO, RBAC and audit logs on Enterprise; Cursor lists SAML/OIDC SSO on Teams

Who should pick which

Cline suits an open-source agent with your own model keys, Cursor suits a subscription AI editor with cloud agents and Bugbot Which one? Pick Cline ifOpen-source agent, Apache 2.0Your own API keys, any modelCLI for scripts, CI and an SDKPick Cursor ifOne subscription, models includedCloud agents and Bugbot reviewsTeams plan with SSO, privacy modeFree; ClinePass $9.99/mo · free tier: Yes Free; Individual $20/mo free tier: Yes Cline vs Cursor in 2026: open-source agent or paid AI editor
Pick Cline for an open-source agent with your own keys, Cursor for a subscription AI editor

Pick Cline if

  • You want an open-source coding agent under Apache 2.0
  • You prefer bringing your own API keys and paying the model provider directly
  • You want to choose among Anthropic, OpenAI, Google, DeepSeek or local models such as Ollama
  • You want a CLI you can run from scripts and CI, or an SDK to embed the agent

Pick Cursor if

  • You want one subscription with models included, starting at $20/mo on Individual
  • You want cloud agents that run on their own cloud computers
  • You want Bugbot pull request reviews, included on Teams at $40/user/mo
  • Your team wants privacy mode and SAML/OIDC SSO on a listed Teams plan

What Cline does better, and what Cursor does better

Cline
  • Open source under Apache 2.0, so teams can inspect and modify the source
  • Bring-your-own-key model choice, including local runtimes such as Ollama
  • Plan and Act modes with per-command approval and checkpoints with one-click undo
  • CLI for scripts and CI, plus an SDK to embed an agent in your own product
Cursor
  • Cloud agents that run in parallel on their own cloud computers
  • Bugbot agentic pull request review
  • Agent access from Slack and GitHub as well as the desktop app and CLI
  • A listed Teams plan with privacy mode, centralized billing and SAML/OIDC SSO

Cline vs Cursor pricing: plans and free tiers

Side-by-side comparison
PlanToolPriceLimits
Cline Open SourceClineFreeInference billed at cost or via your own API keys
Cline ClinePassCline$9.99/mo2-5x the usage on popular open coding models compared to standard API rates
Cline EnterpriseClineCustom (contact sales)Contact sales
Cursor HobbyCursorFreeLimited Agent requests
Cursor Individual (Pro)Cursor$20/moExtended limits on Agent; usage beyond included amount billed on demand
Cursor Individual (Pro+ / Ultra)CursorNot statedPro+ recommended for daily agent users, Ultra for power users
Cursor Teams (Standard / Premium)Cursor$40/user/moIncluded usage plus on-demand billing
Cursor EnterpriseCursorCustomPooled usage

USD as published on each vendor's pricing page, checked Oct 2, 2026. Cline pricing in full · Cursor pricing in full

Usage limits: what the vendors state

Side-by-side comparison
ClineCursor
Messages / rate limitsNo request caps stated; inference is billed at cost or through your own API keysHobby: limited Agent requests; Individual: extended limits, then on-demand billing
Context / file sizeNot statedNot stated
Seats / teamTeam features need Enterprise (contact sales)Teams at $40 per user per month; Enterprise has pooled usage

Feature comparison

Side-by-side comparison
FeatureClineCursor
Multi-file edits with diffsYes, with checkpoints and one-click undoYes, code edits shown as diffs
Terminal commandsYes, with approval per commandNot stated
Plan and Act workflowYesPlans and task breakdowns listed as outputs
Cloud agentsNot statedYes, on Individual and above
Code reviewNot statedYes, Bugbot
MCP and skillsYes, MCP marketplace, skills and .clinerulesYes, MCPs, skills and hooks on Individual and above
Bring your own model keysYesNot stated
API / SDKSDK documented, inference billed by the providerAPI, SDK and CLI listed in docs; billing not verified

Privacy and data training

Side-by-side comparison
ClineCursor
Training on your dataNot statedNot used unless flagged for security review, reported as Feedback or agreed to; privacy mode keeps code data out of training
RetentionNot statedNot stated
Business controlsClient-side architecture; Enterprise adds SSO, audit logs and inference provider limitsTeam-wide privacy mode, SAML/OIDC SSO, audit logs on Enterprise

Taken from each vendor's published policy pages at the time of our check. Policies change; the source links are at the bottom.

Switching between Cline and Cursor: what carries over

Cline → CursorCarries over
  • Natural-language task prompts and your project folder
  • MCP servers and skills, which Cursor also supports
  • Code review habits built on reading each diff
You lose
  • Open-source code and your own model keys
  • Per-command approval in Plan and Act modes
  • Flat inference-at-cost billing
Cursor → ClineCarries over
  • Natural-language task prompts and your project folder
  • MCP servers and skills, which Cline also supports
  • Diff-based review of edits
You lose
  • Cloud agents on their own computers
  • Bugbot pull request reviews
  • Agent access from Slack and GitHub

Pros and cons

Cline
  • Open source under Apache 2.0
  • Free for individual developers
  • Bring your own API keys
  • You pay for model inference separately
  • JetBrains extension, SSO and team features need Enterprise
  • Desktop app version listed as 0.0.41
Cursor
  • Free Hobby plan with no credit card required
  • Access to frontier models on paid plans
  • Team SSO and privacy mode on Teams
  • Free plan has limited agent requests
  • Usage beyond included amount is billed extra
  • Prices exclude taxes

The two tools

Open the live comparison table

Cline or Cursor: how to choose

  • Want an open-source agent you can inspect: choose Cline
  • Want to use your own model keys or local models: choose Cline
  • Want one subscription with models and cloud agents included: choose Cursor
  • Need Bugbot pull request reviews: choose Cursor
  • Need SSO: both offer it, Cline on a contact-sales Enterprise plan and Cursor on Teams at $40 per user per month
  • Want a predictable monthly price: Cursor lists $20/mo, while Cline's cost depends on your provider's token usage

Frequently asked questions

Is Cline free, and is Cursor free?

Both have a free option. Cline's open-source extension is free for individual developers, but you pay your model provider for inference. Cursor's Hobby plan is free with no credit card, but it allows only limited Agent requests.

How much do Cline and Cursor cost?

Cline lists ClinePass at $9.99 per month and Enterprise as contact sales. Cursor lists Individual (Pro) at $20/mo and Teams at $40 per user per month, with Enterprise custom. Cursor's Pro+ and Ultra prices were not in the text we fetched.

Can I use my own model keys with Cursor or Cline?

Cline documents bring-your-own-key use with providers such as Anthropic, OpenAI, Google, AWS Bedrock, DeepSeek and local runtimes such as Ollama. Cursor's profile lists models from OpenAI, Anthropic, Gemini, SpaceXAI and Cursor; bring-your-own-key use was not stated.

Does Cline or Cursor use my code for training?

Cursor says code data is not used for training by it or its model providers when privacy mode is on, and a Teams plan has team-wide privacy mode. Cline's training and retention terms were not stated on the pages we read; with your own keys, content goes to the provider you pick.

Sources

Only official vendor pages. No third-party benchmarks, forum threads or press were used. How we review.