Productivity & writing · alternatives

Best Supacut alternatives in 2026 (free and paid)

Supacut costs $39 per year, but the sticker hides a few things. It is billed annually only, with no monthly option, and AI calls use your own provider key, so model fees are paid separately to the provider. No free tier is stated, so you cannot try before buying, and supported operating systems were not stated on the pages we loaded. Prices checked on 2026-09-29.

Descript is the full editor, with Hobbyist at $16 per month per editor billed annually (saves 33%) and a free tier. It edits by transcript and is far broader than Supacut's select-finding. Otter.ai is a transcription tool with Pro at $16.99 per month per user and a free tier, useful for finding soundbites in interviews. Neither is listed as exporting selects as XML to Premiere, Resolve or Final Cut, which is Supacut's own niche.

"Better suited" below is based on documented features and pricing from our verified profiles, not on a head-to-head test. Prices are USD as published by each vendor.

Supacut and its alternatives, as their sites look today

Our own captures of each vendor's public pages. Click a frame for the full-size image.

Supacut homepage — screenshot of the productivity & writing AI tool, Oct 2, 2026
Supacut homepage. supacut.io, captured Oct 2, 2026
Descript homepage — screenshot of the video AI tool, Oct 1, 2026
Descript homepage. descript.com, captured Oct 1, 2026
Otter.ai pricing page with plans and prices — screenshot of the audio & voice AI tool, Oct 1, 2026
Otter.ai homepage. otter.ai, captured Oct 1, 2026

Why people look beyond Supacut

  • Requires the user's own model API key and provider costs are paid separately Total cost includes model fees
  • Billed annually only No monthly option
  • Supported operating systems not stated on the pages loaded Installation requirements are unclear

Taken from the documented limitations in our Supacut profile.

Supacut and its alternatives at a glance

Alternatives at a glance
ToolStarting priceFree tierPlatformsMain limitation
Supacut (this page) $39/yr (Supacut) No — It is billed annually only and AI calls use your own provider key, which you pay separately.
Descript $16/mo (Hobbyist) Yes Desktop, API Monthly caps on media hours and AI credits; overages require top-ups
Otter.ai $16.99 (Pro) Yes Web, Desktop, Mobile, API Free plan limited to 3 lifetime file imports and 300 monthly transcription minutes; Pro plan capped at 1,200 minutes monthly and 90 minutes per meeting

2 alternatives to Supacut, by need

When to pick each alternative
AlternativePick it whenStarting priceWatch out for
Descript
$16/mo (Hobbyist)
Otter.ai
$16.99 (Pro)

More productivity & writing tools worth a look

All productivity & writing tools compared

Frequently asked questions

Is there a free alternative to Supacut?

Supacut has no free tier stated. Descript and Otter.ai both have free tiers.

Why look for Supacut alternatives?

Annual-only billing, separate provider API costs, no free trial and unclear OS support.

How do prices compare?

Supacut is $39 per year. Descript Hobbyist is $16 per month billed annually and Otter.ai Pro is $16.99 per month.

Do they export XML selects?

Our data does not say.

Still considering Supacut?