Head-to-head · profiles checked Oct 1, 2026

OpenClaw vs n8n in 2026: chat assistant or workflow builder

Pick OpenClaw for a self-run chat assistant and n8n for workflow automation. OpenClaw is free, open source and has no hosted tier; you supply your own AI models. n8n has a free self-hosted Community Edition, cloud Starter at 20€/mo billed annually (2,500 executions) and Pro at 50€/mo (10,000). USD prices for n8n are not confirmed.

Starting priceFree (open source) · Free Community Edition; Starter 20€/moOpenClaw · n8n
Free tierYes · YesOpenClaw · n8n
Plans documented1 · 5OpenClaw · n8n
PlatformsDesktop, chat apps · Web, self-hosted, API, CLIOpenClaw · n8n

We based this comparison on our OpenClaw and n8n profiles, both verified 2026-10-01 from official vendor pages; it uses no third-party benchmarks and no vendor paid for placement.

Is OpenClaw better than n8n? The short answer

OpenClaw is an open-source assistant you run yourself and talk to through chat apps such as Telegram and WhatsApp. n8n is a workflow automation platform with a visual editor, code steps and AI agent nodes, available in the cloud or self-hosted. Both have a free self-run option, but they solve different jobs. Pick OpenClaw for a personal assistant on your own machine, and n8n for automations that connect apps and run on triggers.

Based on our OpenClaw and n8n profiles, both verified 2026-10-01 from official vendor pages; no benchmark was run.

OpenClaw and n8n, as their sites look today

Our own captures of each vendor's public pages. Click a frame for the full-size image.

OpenClaw homepage — screenshot of the chat assistants AI tool, Oct 2, 2026
OpenClaw homepage. openclaw.ai, captured Oct 2, 2026
n8n homepage — screenshot of the productivity & writing AI tool, Oct 1, 2026
n8n homepage. n8n.io, captured Oct 1, 2026
OpenClaw documentation — screenshot of the chat assistants AI tool, Oct 2, 2026
OpenClaw plans and prices. docs.openclaw.ai, captured Oct 2, 2026
n8n pricing page with plans and prices — screenshot of the productivity & writing AI tool, Oct 1, 2026
n8n plans and prices. n8n.io, captured Oct 1, 2026

OpenClaw or n8n: which to use, by task

If you only want the answer, this is the table. Everything below is the evidence from the two documented profiles.

Side-by-side comparison
You want toUseWhy
Control an assistant from a chat appOpenClawOpenClaw works through WhatsApp, Telegram, Discord, Slack and more; n8n lists no chat assistant
Organize an email inboxOpenClawOpenClaw lists inbox organizing as a use case; you connect mail access yourself
Manage a calendarOpenClawOpenClaw lists calendar management; it needs a model and tool setup
Build multi-step workflows between appsn8nn8n has a visual editor with 1000+ integrations; OpenClaw lists no workflow editor
Run a workflow on a webhook or schedulen8nn8n supports webhook and queue triggers and scheduled runs
Write custom code inside an automationn8nn8n has JavaScript and Python code steps
Build AI agents and RAG pipelinesn8nn8n lists AI agent nodes and MCP support; OpenClaw lists no agent builder
Run software on your own serverEitherOpenClaw is self-run; n8n offers a free self-hosted Community Edition
Use a hosted cloud servicen8nn8n has cloud plans; OpenClaw states no hosted option
Give a team SSO and Git version controln8nn8n lists SSO, SAML, LDAP and Git on Business; OpenClaw lists none

Who should pick which

OpenClaw suits a self-run chat assistant, n8n suits building automated workflows between apps Which one? Pick OpenClaw ifChat-app control (WhatsApp etc.)Open source, runs on your machineInbox and calendar tasksPick n8n ifVisual workflow editorCode steps in JavaScript, PythonCloud or self-hostedFree, open source · free tier: Yes Community free; Starter 20€/mo free tier: Yes OpenClaw vs n8n in 2026: chat assistant or workflow builder
Pick OpenClaw for a chat-driven personal assistant, n8n for app workflows

Pick OpenClaw if

  • You want to control an assistant from Telegram, WhatsApp, Discord or Slack
  • You want open-source software on your own machine with no hosted tier
  • You want an assistant for inbox, calendar and similar personal tasks
  • You are fine supplying and paying for your own AI model access

Pick n8n if

  • You want to build multi-step workflows in a visual editor
  • You need webhook or queue triggers and JavaScript or Python code steps
  • You want a cloud plan or a self-hosted option, your choice
  • You need SSO, Git version control or audit logging on a higher plan

What OpenClaw does better, and what n8n does better

OpenClaw
  • Reached through chat apps you already use
  • Open source with public documentation
  • Desktop apps for macOS, Windows and Linux
  • No subscription or hosted tier stated
n8n
  • Visual workflow editor with 1000+ integrations
  • JavaScript and Python code steps
  • Webhook and queue triggers
  • AI agent nodes and MCP support

OpenClaw vs n8n pricing: plans and free tiers

Side-by-side comparison
PlanToolPriceLimits
OpenClaw Open source (self-run)OpenClawFreeNo hosted tier; model and API costs are separate
n8n Community Editionn8nFree (self-hosted)Unlimited executions, users and workflows
n8n Startern8n20€/mo billed annually (USD not confirmed)2,500 executions per month, 5 concurrent, 1 shared project
n8n Pron8n50€/mo billed annually (USD not confirmed)10,000 executions per month, up to 50 concurrent, 3 shared projects
n8n Businessn8n667€/mo billed annually (USD not confirmed)Self-hosted only; 40,000 executions per month, 200+ concurrent, 6 shared projects
n8n Enterprisen8nCustom (sales)Custom executions, 200+ concurrent, unlimited shared projects

USD as published on each vendor's pricing page, checked Oct 1, 2026. n8n pricing in full

Usage limits: what the vendors state

Side-by-side comparison
OpenClawn8n
Messages / rate limitsNot statedCloud: 2,500 executions per month on Starter, 10,000 on Pro; Community Edition unlimited
ConcurrencyNot stated5 on Starter, up to 50 on Pro, 200+ on Business and Enterprise
Seats / teamShare an assistant with a team is listed as a use case; seat limits not statedUnlimited users and workflows on all plans

Feature comparison

Side-by-side comparison
FeatureOpenClawn8n
Chat app interfaceYes (WhatsApp, Telegram, Discord, Slack, Signal, iMessage)Not stated
Visual workflow editorNoYes
Code stepsNot statedYes (JavaScript, Python)
Webhook triggersNot statedYes
AI agentsNot statedYes (AI agent nodes, MCP)
Self-hostingYes (installer, npm, Docker, Nix, source)Yes (Docker, npm, binary)
Cloud hostingNoYes
APINo hosted APIYes
Mobile appsMobile apps for voice and camera input are mentioned; platform details not statedNot stated

Privacy and data training

Side-by-side comparison
OpenClawn8n
Training on your dataNot applicable to the app; depends on your AI providerData not used to train n8n or third-party ML models
RetentionDepends on your gateway; the policy does not cover itExecution history 7 to 365+ days by plan
Business controlsPermission-based access; no ad or analytics SDKs in mobile or extension buildsEncrypted credential store, audit logging, DPAs, enforced 2FA on Enterprise

Taken from each vendor's published policy pages at the time of our check. Policies change; the source links are at the bottom.

Switching between OpenClaw and n8n: what carries over

OpenClaw → n8nCarries over
  • Tasks you describe in plain words, rebuilt as workflows
  • Your own AI model access, supplied as your own key on self-hosted n8n
You lose
  • Chat-app control of the assistant
  • The open-source assistant gateway on your machine
n8n → OpenClawCarries over
  • Self-hosting on your own server
  • Your own AI model access
You lose
  • Visual workflow editor and code steps
  • Webhook and queue triggers
  • Cloud-hosted option

Pros and cons

OpenClaw
  • Open source with public docs
  • No subscription or hosted tier stated
  • Many chat channels from one gateway
  • Requires installing and running it yourself
  • Model costs are separate
  • Windows installer labeled beta
n8n
  • Free self-hosted Community Edition
  • Billing per workflow execution, not per step
  • Unlimited users and workflows on all plans
  • Cloud plans capped by monthly executions
  • Business plan is self-hosted only
  • Self-hosting requires technical expertise

The two tools

Open the live comparison table

OpenClaw or n8n: how to choose

  • Want an assistant you message from chat apps: choose OpenClaw
  • Want workflows that run on triggers between apps: choose n8n
  • Need a hosted cloud option: choose n8n, since OpenClaw states none
  • Need SSO or Git version control: choose n8n Business
  • Want zero software cost and own your AI model access: OpenClaw fits
  • Unsure which job you have: pick n8n for automations, OpenClaw for a personal assistant

Frequently asked questions

Is OpenClaw free?

The OpenClaw software is free and open source, and the site states no subscription and no hosted tier. Your AI model access is a separate cost. n8n also has a free self-hosted Community Edition, while its cloud plans start at 20€/mo billed annually.

Can n8n be self-hosted like OpenClaw?

Yes. n8n offers a free Community Edition you can run with Docker or npm, and a Business plan that is self-hosted only. OpenClaw is always self-run. Both need some technical setup, and neither profile lists a managed option for OpenClaw.

Does OpenClaw replace n8n?

They do different jobs. OpenClaw is an assistant you message from chat apps. n8n connects apps through workflows with triggers, code steps and AI agent nodes. Our profiles do not document OpenClaw building trigger-based workflows, so we cannot say it replaces n8n.

Which one is safer for private data?

OpenClaw says data stays on your own machines, but training and retention depend on your AI provider and gateway. n8n states it does not use data to train n8n or third-party ML models and offers an encrypted credential store and DPAs. Review both policies first.

Sources

Only official vendor pages. No third-party benchmarks, forum threads or press were used. How we review.