Open-source personal AI assistant that runs on your own machine and is reached through chat apps like WhatsApp and Telegram.
Free stops at: No hosted tier or subscription per the site, Model and API costs are separate
Pricing US price unconfirmed
Head-to-head · profiles checked Oct 1, 2026
Pick OpenClaw for a free, self-hosted assistant you reach through chat apps, and Claude Code for an agent that edits your codebase. OpenClaw's software has no price and no hosted tier, but model costs are yours and not stated. Claude Code has no free tier: Pro is $20/month billed monthly, Max starts at $100/month, and Console use is billed per token.
We based this comparison on our OpenClaw profile verified 2026-10-01 and our Claude Code profile verified 2026-09-29, both built from official vendor pages; it uses no third-party benchmarks and no vendor paid for placement.
OpenClaw is a free, open-source assistant you run yourself and talk to through chat apps such as Telegram and WhatsApp; you pay your own AI provider for model access. Claude Code is Anthropic's coding agent for the terminal, IDEs, desktop and web, and it needs a paid Claude plan or a Console account. Pick OpenClaw if you want to self-host a chat-driven assistant. Pick Claude Code if your main job is editing a codebase with an agent, and you accept a subscription or per-token billing.
Based on our OpenClaw profile verified 2026-10-01 and Claude Code profile verified 2026-09-29, both built from official vendor pages; no benchmark was run.
Our own captures of each vendor's public pages. Click a frame for the full-size image.
If you only want the answer, this is the table. Everything below is the evidence from the two documented profiles.
| You want to | Use | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Run an assistant for free on your own machine | OpenClaw | OpenClaw is open source with no subscription; Claude Code has no free tier |
| Chat with an assistant from WhatsApp or Telegram | OpenClaw | OpenClaw bridges one gateway to Telegram, WhatsApp, Discord, Slack and more |
| Organize an email inbox or manage a calendar | OpenClaw | OpenClaw lists inbox and calendar tasks, once you connect mail access and a model |
| Build a feature across several files | Claude Code | Claude Code edits multiple files from a plain-language request |
| Fix a bug from an error message | Claude Code | Claude Code traces the cause in the repo and proposes a fix |
| Write tests and fix failures | Claude Code | Claude Code lists writing, running and fixing tests among its jobs |
| Work inside VS Code or JetBrains | Claude Code | Claude Code has extensions for both; OpenClaw lists none |
| Use a desktop app on Windows, macOS or Linux | Either | Both list desktop apps; OpenClaw's Windows installer is labeled beta and Claude Code's Linux app is beta |
| Run a team with SSO and audit logs | Claude Code | Claude Code Team and Enterprise list SSO, SCIM and audit logs; OpenClaw lists none |
| Keep content on machines you control | OpenClaw | OpenClaw's site says data stays on your own machines; model provider terms still apply |
| Plan | Tool | Price | Limits |
|---|---|---|---|
| OpenClaw open source (self-run) | OpenClaw | Free | No hosted tier or subscription; model and API costs are separate; Windows installer labeled beta |
| Claude Pro | Claude Code | $20/mo ($17/mo billed annually, $200 up front) | Five-hour session limit plus a weekly limit, shared across claude.ai, Claude Code and the desktop app |
| Claude Max 5x | Claude Code | $100/mo | 5x the usage of Pro |
| Claude Max 20x | Claude Code | $200/mo | 20x the usage of Pro |
| Claude Team (standard seat) | Claude Code | $25/seat/mo ($20 billed annually) | Teams of 2 to 150; premium seat $100 annual or $125 monthly (5x usage) |
| Claude Enterprise | Claude Code | $20/seat/mo billed annually plus usage at API rates | Spend limits set by admins |
USD as published on each vendor's pricing page, checked Oct 1, 2026. Claude Code pricing in full
| OpenClaw | Claude Code | |
|---|---|---|
| Messages / rate limits | Not stated; depends on the AI provider you connect | Pro and Max have a five-hour session limit plus a weekly limit, shared across claude.ai, Claude Code and the desktop app |
| Context / file size | Not stated | Not stated |
| Seats / team | Not stated; the site mentions sharing an assistant with a team | Team is for 2 to 150 seats; Enterprise via sales plus usage |
| Feature | OpenClaw | Claude Code |
|---|---|---|
| Open source | Yes | Not stated |
| Chat app access | Yes (WhatsApp, Telegram, Discord and more) | Not stated |
| Terminal CLI | Not stated | Yes |
| IDE extensions | Not stated | Yes (VS Code, JetBrains) |
| Desktop app | Yes (macOS, Windows, Linux) | Yes (macOS, Windows; Linux beta) |
| Web access | WebChat | Yes (claude.ai/code) |
| Mobile apps | Mobile apps mentioned in the privacy policy | Yes (iOS and Android) |
| API | No hosted API | Via Console, billed per token |
| OpenClaw | Claude Code | |
|---|---|---|
| Training on your data | Not applicable to the app; depends on your AI provider | Opt-out on Free, Pro and Max; none by default on Team and Enterprise |
| Retention | Depends on your gateway; the policy does not cover it | Not stated; custom retention controls on Enterprise only |
| Business controls | Permission-based access; no ad or analytics SDKs in mobile or extension builds | SSO and SCIM, audit logs and Compliance API, IP allowlisting, HIPAA-ready offering |
Taken from each vendor's published policy pages at the time of our check. Policies change; the source links are at the bottom.
Open-source personal AI assistant that runs on your own machine and is reached through chat apps like WhatsApp and Telegram.
Free stops at: No hosted tier or subscription per the site, Model and API costs are separate
Pricing US price unconfirmed
Anthropic's agentic coding tool that reads your codebase, edits files and runs commands from the terminal, IDEs, desktop app or browser.
Watch out: Not included in the Free Claude plan, and usage on subscriptions is capped by plan limits.
Verified code.claude.com (opens Claude Code website in a new tab)
From $20/mo US · checked Sep 29
The OpenClaw site states no subscription and no hosted tier, so the software is free, but you supply and pay for your own AI models. Claude Code has no free tier: it comes with Claude Pro, Max, Team or Enterprise, or is billed per token through a Console account.
Claude Code is included in Pro at $20/month billed monthly ($17/month with annual billing), Max 5x at $100/month and Max 20x at $200/month. OpenClaw has no price for the software, and its model costs are not stated.
Yes for both. OpenClaw has desktop apps for macOS 15+, Windows 10/11 and Linux, though its Windows installer is labeled beta. Claude Code runs in the terminal on macOS, Linux, WSL and Windows, and has a desktop app for macOS and Windows with Linux in beta.
OpenClaw's site says data stays on your own machines, but prompts still go to whichever AI provider you pick. Claude Code sends code and prompts to Claude models to produce edits, and training is opt-out on Free, Pro and Max plans.
Only official vendor pages. No third-party benchmarks, forum threads or press were used. How we review.
compare>