Open-source personal AI assistant that runs on your own machine and is reached through chat apps like WhatsApp and Telegram.
Free stops at: No hosted tier or subscription per the site, Model and API costs are separate
Pricing US price unconfirmed
Head-to-head · profiles checked Oct 1, 2026
Pick ChatGPT for a ready-made hosted assistant and OpenClaw for one you run yourself. OpenClaw is free, open-source software with no subscription or hosted tier, but you install it and pay for your own model access. ChatGPT has a Free plan, Plus at $20/month and apps for web, desktop and mobile. OpenClaw has no hosted API, and OpenAI's API is billed separately from every ChatGPT plan.
We based this comparison on our OpenClaw profile verified 2026-10-01 and our ChatGPT profile verified 2026-09-30, both built from official vendor pages; it uses no third-party benchmarks and no vendor paid for placement.
OpenClaw is free, open-source software that you install and run yourself and drive from chat apps such as Telegram or WhatsApp. ChatGPT is a hosted assistant with a Free plan, paid tiers and apps for web, desktop and mobile. OpenClaw has no hosted tier, so you also pay for your own AI model access, and the Windows installer is labeled beta.
ChatGPT needs no setup, but its usage caps vary by plan and can change. Developers and self-hosters should look at OpenClaw; people who want a ready-made app should look at ChatGPT.
Based on our OpenClaw profile verified 2026-10-01 and ChatGPT profile verified 2026-09-30; no benchmark was run.
Our own captures of each vendor's public pages. Click a frame for the full-size image.
If you only want the answer, this is the table. Everything below is the evidence from the two documented profiles.
| You want to | Use | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Organize an email inbox from a chat message | OpenClaw | OpenClaw lists inbox organizing; you must connect and authorize mail access yourself |
| Manage a calendar from chat | OpenClaw | OpenClaw lists calendar management from chat apps; it needs a model and tool setup |
| Chat about everyday questions for free | ChatGPT | ChatGPT Free gives unlimited everyday text chat subject to guardrails; OpenClaw needs your own model access |
| Research with cited web search | ChatGPT | ChatGPT has web search with citations and deep research; OpenClaw's profile lists neither |
| Analyze uploaded files or spreadsheets | ChatGPT | ChatGPT documents file uploads and code-backed data analysis; OpenClaw's profile lists none |
| Generate images | ChatGPT | ChatGPT lists image generation; OpenClaw's profile lists no image output |
| Keep your content on your own machines | OpenClaw | OpenClaw states data stays on your own machines; your AI provider's terms still apply separately |
| Run a team workspace with SSO | ChatGPT | ChatGPT Business and Enterprise offer shared workspaces; Enterprise adds SAML SSO and SCIM |
| Inspect and modify the assistant's source code | OpenClaw | OpenClaw provides the complete source code and public docs |
| Use a coding agent | ChatGPT | ChatGPT includes Codex; OpenClaw's profile lists no coding agent |
| Plan | Tool | Price | Limits |
|---|---|---|---|
| OpenClaw open source (self-run) | OpenClaw | $0 | No hosted tier or subscription per the site; model and API costs are separate |
| ChatGPT Free | ChatGPT | $0 | Unlimited everyday text chat subject to safeguards; separate caps on uploads, images, voice |
| ChatGPT Go | ChatGPT | Not confirmed (US price) | Higher limits than Free; may include ads |
| ChatGPT Plus | ChatGPT | $20/mo | May include message caps during high demand |
| ChatGPT Pro 100 | ChatGPT | $100/mo | Allowances vary by tier; Ultrafast not included |
| ChatGPT Pro 200 | ChatGPT | $200/mo | More usage than Pro 100; Ultrafast not included |
| ChatGPT Pro 500 | ChatGPT | $500/mo | Highest included usage of the Pro plans |
| ChatGPT Business Standard | ChatGPT | $25/seat/mo ($20 annual) | Minimum 2 seats |
| ChatGPT Business Premium | ChatGPT | $125/seat/mo ($100 annual) | 5x more usage than Standard |
| ChatGPT Enterprise | ChatGPT | Custom (sales) | Depends on agreement |
| OpenAI API | ChatGPT | Usage-based, per 1M tokens | Separate product, not included in ChatGPT plans |
USD as published on each vendor's pricing page, checked Oct 1, 2026. ChatGPT pricing in full
| OpenClaw | ChatGPT | |
|---|---|---|
| Messages / rate limits | Not stated; model and API costs are separate | Free: unlimited everyday text chat subject to safeguards; other tools capped by plan |
| Context / file size | Not stated | GPT Instant context: Free 27K, Go/Plus 54K, Pro 128K tokens; Free Library storage 500 MB |
| Seats / team | No team plans documented | Business needs 2 seats minimum; Enterprise via sales |
| Support | No official support tier listed; help comes from docs and community | Not stated |
| Feature | OpenClaw | ChatGPT |
|---|---|---|
| Image generation | Not stated | Yes |
| Voice | Optional voice and camera input via mobile apps | Yes |
| File upload | Not stated | Yes |
| Web search | Not stated | Yes |
| Chat-app channels | Yes (Telegram, WhatsApp, Discord, Slack, Signal, iMessage and more) | Not stated |
| Agents / tools | Actions such as emails and calendar changes; custom skills and plugins | Codex and ChatGPT Work |
| API | No hosted API | Yes, separate product billed by usage |
| Mobile apps | Mobile apps send commands to your gateway; listed platform is Desktop | Yes |
| OpenClaw | ChatGPT | |
|---|---|---|
| Training on your data | Not applicable to the app; depends on your chosen AI provider | Consumer chats may be used unless you opt out or use temporary chat; Business, Enterprise and API not by default |
| Retention | Depends on your gateway; the policy does not cover it | Temporary chats may be kept up to 30 days for safety; consumer default not verified |
| Business controls | Permission-based access; no ad or analytics SDKs in mobile or extension builds | SAML SSO, SCIM, role-based access, DPA, SOC 2 |
Taken from each vendor's published policy pages at the time of our check. Policies change; the source links are at the bottom.
Open-source personal AI assistant that runs on your own machine and is reached through chat apps like WhatsApp and Telegram.
Free stops at: No hosted tier or subscription per the site, Model and API costs are separate
Pricing US price unconfirmed
OpenAI's general-purpose AI assistant for writing, research, analysis, image generation and coding help.
Free stops at: Unlimited everyday text chats subject to abuse-prevention safeguards, Separate usage limits for file uploads,…
Free · paid from $20/mo US · checked Sep 30
The OpenClaw software is free and open source, with no subscription or hosted tier, but you pay your own AI provider for model access. ChatGPT has a Free plan with unlimited everyday text chat subject to guardrails, and Plus costs $20/month.
Not necessarily. OpenClaw needs some AI model access that you supply yourself. Its profile notes a ChatGPT sign-in beta as one option, and ChatGPT's profile says eligible Plus subscribers can let participating tools use their allowance.
OpenClaw states that data stays on your own machines; training use depends on your chosen AI provider and retention depends on your gateway. ChatGPT consumer chats may be used for training unless you opt out, while Business, Enterprise and API data is not used by default.
OpenClaw has no hosted API; it runs a self-hosted gateway on your machine. OpenAI offers an API as a separate product billed per 1M tokens, and no ChatGPT plan includes API usage.
Only official vendor pages. No third-party benchmarks, forum threads or press were used. How we review.
compare>