Head-to-head · profiles checked Oct 1, 2026

Hermes Agent vs OpenClaw in 2026: desktop app or chat-app gateway

Pick OpenClaw to control a self-run assistant from chat apps like WhatsApp and Telegram, and Hermes Desktop for a native app around Hermes Agent with shared CLI memory and skills. Both are free and open source, and both leave model costs to you. OpenClaw has no hosted tier; Hermes Desktop adds optional Nous Portal cloud agents at prices we could not confirm.

Starting priceFree (open source) · Free (MIT)OpenClaw · Hermes Desktop (Nous Research)
Free tierYes · YesOpenClaw · Hermes Desktop (Nous Research)
Plans documented1 · 1OpenClaw · Hermes Desktop (Nous Research)
PlatformsDesktop (macOS, Windows, Linux) plus chat apps · Desktop (macOS, Windows, Linux)OpenClaw · Hermes Desktop (Nous Research)

We based this comparison on our OpenClaw profile verified 2026-10-01 and our Hermes Desktop profile verified 2026-09-29, both built from official vendor pages; it uses no third-party benchmarks and no vendor paid for placement.

Is OpenClaw better than Hermes Desktop (Nous Research)? The short answer

Both tools are free, open-source agents you run yourself, and both leave model costs to you. OpenClaw is built around a gateway that you talk to from chat apps such as WhatsApp and Telegram, with inbox and calendar tasks as its listed uses. Hermes Desktop is the native app for Hermes Agent by Nous Research, with sessions, memory and skills shared with the command-line version. Choose OpenClaw to work from your phone's chat app, and Hermes Desktop to work in a window beside your project files.

Based on our OpenClaw profile verified 2026-10-01 and our Hermes Desktop profile verified 2026-09-29, with its sources rechecked 2026-10-04; no benchmark was run.

OpenClaw and Hermes Desktop (Nous Research), as their sites look today

Our own captures of each vendor's public pages. Click a frame for the full-size image.

OpenClaw homepage — screenshot of the chat assistants AI tool, Oct 2, 2026
OpenClaw homepage. openclaw.ai, captured Oct 2, 2026
Hermes Desktop (Nous Research) homepage — screenshot of the productivity & writing AI tool, Oct 1, 2026
Hermes Desktop (Nous Research) homepage. hermes-agent.nousresearch.com, captured Oct 1, 2026
OpenClaw documentation — screenshot of the chat assistants AI tool, Oct 2, 2026
OpenClaw plans and prices. docs.openclaw.ai, captured Oct 2, 2026
Hermes Desktop (Nous Research) homepage — screenshot of the productivity & writing AI tool, Oct 1, 2026
Hermes Desktop (Nous Research) plans and prices. hermes-agent.nousresearch.com, captured Oct 1, 2026

OpenClaw or Hermes Desktop (Nous Research): which to use, by task

If you only want the answer, this is the table. Everything below is the evidence from the two documented profiles.

Side-by-side comparison
You want toUseWhy
Message your assistant from WhatsApp or TelegramOpenClawOpenClaw bridges one gateway to many chat apps; Hermes Desktop lists no chat channels
Organize an email inboxOpenClawListed OpenClaw use case; Hermes Desktop lists no email tasks
Manage a calendarOpenClawListed OpenClaw use case; Hermes Desktop lists none
Work in a native window with chat and file previewsHermes Desktop (Nous Research)Hermes Desktop offers chat, sessions, a file browser and side-by-side previews
Keep memory shared with a terminal versionHermes Desktop (Nous Research)Hermes Desktop shares config, keys, sessions, skills and memory with the CLI
Let the agent write its own skillsHermes Desktop (Nous Research)Hermes Desktop says the agent writes and improves skills across sessions
Extend the agent with pluginsEitherOpenClaw supports channel plugins and custom skills; Hermes Desktop supports plugins for tools, hooks and themes
Run on macOS, Windows or LinuxEitherBoth list all three; OpenClaw's Windows installer is beta and Hermes Desktop's macOS requirement differs between pages
Start without creating an accountEitherOpenClaw needs no account; Hermes Desktop needs none for the base app
Inspect the source codeEitherBoth are open source; Hermes Desktop states MIT, OpenClaw's license was not captured

Who should pick which

OpenClaw suits chatting with a self-run assistant from messaging apps, Hermes Desktop suits a native app with shared memory and skills Which one? Pick OpenClaw ifChat from WhatsApp or TelegramInbox and calendar tasksDesktop apps, Docker or npmPick Hermes Desktop ifNative chat and file windowMemory and skills shared with CLIPlugins; MIT licenseFree (open source) · free tier: Yes No hosted tier offered Free (MIT) · free tier: Yes Nous Portal prices: Not confirmed Hermes Agent vs OpenClaw in 2026: desktop app or chat gateway
Pick OpenClaw to drive an assistant from chat apps, Hermes Desktop for a native agent window

Pick OpenClaw if

  • You want to message your assistant from WhatsApp, Telegram, Discord, Slack or Signal
  • You want inbox, calendar or email tasks, which are OpenClaw's listed use cases
  • You are comfortable installing and running a gateway yourself
  • You want no account at all, with data kept on your own machines per the site

Pick Hermes Desktop (Nous Research) if

  • You want a native window with chat, sessions, a file browser and side-by-side previews
  • You want the same config, sessions, skills and memory in the app and the CLI
  • You want an agent that writes and improves its own skills across sessions
  • You want a documented MIT license for the base app

What OpenClaw does better, and what Hermes Desktop (Nous Research) does better

OpenClaw
  • Works through WhatsApp, Telegram, Discord, Slack, Signal, iMessage and more
  • Inbox, calendar and email use cases listed on the site
  • Optional voice and camera input through mobile apps
  • Install by one-line script, npm, pnpm, Docker or Nix
Hermes Desktop (Nous Research)
  • Native window with chat, sessions, file browser and previews
  • Config, keys, sessions, skills and memory shared with the CLI
  • Agent writes and improves its own skills across sessions
  • Plugins for tools, hooks, themes and integrations

OpenClaw vs Hermes Desktop (Nous Research) pricing: plans and free tiers

Side-by-side comparison
PlanToolPriceLimits
Open source (self-run)OpenClawFreeNo hosted tier or subscription per the site; model and API costs are separate; Windows installer labeled beta
Open source (MIT)Hermes Desktop (Nous Research)FreeNot stated
Nous Portal (optional)Hermes Desktop (Nous Research)Not confirmedCloud agents, free and discounted models and bundled tool credits; prices not stated

USD as published on each vendor's pricing page, checked Oct 1, 2026.

Usage limits: what the vendors state

Side-by-side comparison
OpenClawHermes Desktop (Nous Research)
Messages / rate limitsNot stated; depends on the AI provider you connectNot stated; depends on the model provider you configure
Context / file sizeNot statedNot stated
Seats / teamNo team plan documented; sharing an assistant with a team is a listed use caseNo team plans documented

Feature comparison

Side-by-side comparison
FeatureOpenClawHermes Desktop (Nous Research)
Chat-app channelsYes (Discord, Telegram, WhatsApp, Slack, Signal, iMessage and more)Not stated
Voice inputOptional, through mobile appsNot stated
File browser and previewsNot statedYes
Persistent memory and skillsNot statedYes, shared with the CLI
PluginsYes (channel plugins, custom skills)Yes (tools, hooks, themes, integrations)
Desktop appsYes (macOS 15+, Windows 10/11, Linux)Yes (macOS, Windows, Linux)
Mobile appsMentioned in the privacy policy; details not statedNot stated
APINo hosted APINot documented

Privacy and data training

Side-by-side comparison
OpenClawHermes Desktop (Nous Research)
Training on your dataNot applicable to the app; depends on your chosen AI providerNot stated on the pages we read
RetentionDepends on your gateway; the policy does not cover itNot stated on the pages we read
Business controlsPermission-based access; no ad or analytics SDKs in mobile and extension buildsNot stated

Taken from each vendor's published policy pages at the time of our check. Policies change; the source links are at the bottom.

Switching between OpenClaw and Hermes Desktop (Nous Research): what carries over

OpenClaw → Hermes Desktop (Nous Research)Carries over
  • Your own model provider keys, which Hermes Desktop may also need
  • The self-run, open-source approach
You lose
  • Chat access through WhatsApp, Telegram and similar apps
  • Listed inbox and calendar use cases
Hermes Desktop (Nous Research) → OpenClawCarries over
  • Your own model provider keys
  • Custom skills and plugins, which OpenClaw also supports
You lose
  • Sessions and memory shared with a CLI
  • An agent that writes its own skills
  • File browser and side-by-side previews

Pros and cons

OpenClaw
  • Open source with public docs
  • No subscription or hosted tier stated
  • Many chat channels from one gateway
  • Requires installing and running it yourself
  • You supply your own models, so model costs are separate
  • Windows installer labeled beta
Hermes Desktop (Nous Research)
  • MIT-licensed and free to download and use
  • No account required for the base app
  • Same state as the CLI, so sessions carry across interfaces
  • Linux install is done through the terminal rather than an installer
  • Desktop docs list macOS on Apple Silicon only, landing page says macOS 12+
  • Cloud agents and bundled credits need a Nous Portal account

The two tools

Not confirmed
No user reviews yet

Native desktop app for the open-source Hermes Agent from Nous Research, with memory, skills, plugins and tools outside the terminal.

Free stops at: Free and open source

Listed Not yet reviewed

Verified hermes-agent.nousresearch.com (opens Hermes Desktop (Nous Research) website in a new tab)

Open the live comparison table

OpenClaw or Hermes Desktop (Nous Research): how to choose

  • Want to chat with your assistant from WhatsApp or Telegram: choose OpenClaw
  • Want inbox and calendar tasks from a chat message: choose OpenClaw
  • Want a native window with files and previews: choose Hermes Desktop
  • Want the same memory and sessions in app and terminal: choose Hermes Desktop
  • Mac user: check that your Mac matches the support listed on both pages first
  • Neither is a subscription, so compare the model provider costs you will pay

Frequently asked questions

Is Hermes Agent the same as Hermes Desktop?

Not exactly. Hermes Agent is the open-source agent from Nous Research, and Hermes Desktop is its graphical app. The app uses the same agent core, config, sessions, skills and memory as the command-line version. Our catalog entry covers the desktop app.

Are OpenClaw and Hermes Agent free?

Yes, the software is free for both. OpenClaw says there is no subscription and no hosted tier. Hermes Desktop is MIT-licensed and free to download. You may still pay a model provider, since both need model access.

Which one works from WhatsApp or Telegram?

OpenClaw. It bridges one gateway to Discord, iMessage, Signal, Slack, Telegram, WhatsApp and more. Hermes Desktop is a desktop window, and we found no chat-app channels in its profile.

Do I need an account for OpenClaw or Hermes Desktop?

Not for the base software in either case. Hermes Desktop needs a Nous Portal account only for cloud agents, free and discounted models and bundled tool credits. We did not confirm Nous Portal prices.

Sources

Only official vendor pages. No third-party benchmarks, forum threads or press were used. How we review.