Head-to-head · profiles checked Oct 11, 2026

Kling AI vs Google Veo in 2026: credit plans or Google access

Pick Kling AI for a single web studio paid with monthly credits, and Google Veo if you reach video through a Google AI plan or a per-second API. Kling Standard is reported at about $8.80 to $10/mo for 660 credits. Veo comes with Google AI Plus at $4.99/mo or Google AI Pro at $19.99/mo, and its API starts at $0.05 per second on Lite. Neither has a confirmed free tier.

Starting priceAbout $8.80 to $10/mo (reported) · $4.99/mo plan; API from $0.05 per secondKling AI · Veo 3.1
Free tierNot confirmed · NoKling AI · Veo 3.1
Plans documented4 · 5Kling AI · Veo 3.1
Billing unitMonthly credits · Subscription or per second of videoKling AI · Veo 3.1

We based this comparison on our Kling AI profile verified 2026-10-11 and our Google Veo profile verified 2026-10-01; it uses no third-party benchmarks and no vendor paid for placement.

Is Kling AI better than Veo 3.1? The short answer

Kling AI suits creators who want one web studio with monthly credits, native 4K stills and commercial use on paid plans. Google Veo suits people already paying for a Google AI plan and developers who want per-second API billing with published prices. Kling's plan prices are shown only inside its app, so ours come from third-party reviews and should be checked before buying. Neither tool has a confirmed free way to generate video.

Based on our Kling AI profile verified 2026-10-11 (plan prices from third-party reviews, since Kling shows them only in the signed-in app) and our Google Veo profile verified 2026-10-01; no benchmark was run.

Kling AI and Veo 3.1, as their sites look today

Our own captures of each vendor's public pages. Click a frame for the full-size image.

Kling AI homepage — screenshot of the video AI tool, Oct 28, 2026
Kling AI homepage. kling.ai, captured Oct 28, 2026
Veo 3.1 homepage — screenshot of the video AI tool, Oct 28, 2026
Veo 3.1 homepage. deepmind.google, captured Oct 28, 2026
Kling AI homepage — screenshot of the video AI tool, Oct 28, 2026
Kling AI plans and prices. kling.ai, captured Oct 28, 2026
Veo 3.1 pricing page with plans and prices — screenshot of the video AI tool, Oct 28, 2026
Veo 3.1 plans and prices. ai.google.dev, captured Oct 28, 2026

Kling AI or Veo 3.1: which to use, by task

If you only want the answer, this is the table. Everything below is the evidence from the two documented profiles.

Side-by-side comparison
You want toUseWhy
Turn a text prompt into a short videoEitherBoth list text-to-video as a core use case
Animate a photo or still imageEitherKling animates reference images; Veo has image-to-video
Get video with sound in one stepEitherKling 4.0 and Veo 3.1 both generate audio with the video
Make 4K still images for adsKling AIKling Image 3.0 lists native 4K stills; Veo lists no image output
Create a consistent image series or storyboardKling AIKling lists image series generation in one style
Use video generation inside a Google AI planVeo 3.1Google AI Plus and Pro include video generation
Add video generation to an app with known pricesVeo 3.1Veo's Gemini API prices are published per second; Kling API pricing was not verified
Make many cheap draft clipsVeo 3.1Veo 3.1 Lite is the lowest-cost variant, $0.05 to $0.08 per second
Publish client work without a watermarkKling AIKling lists watermark removal and commercial use on paid plans; Veo terms not stated

Who should pick which

Kling AI suits monthly credit plans with 4K stills, Google Veo suits Google AI plan holders and per-second API use Which one? Pick Kling AI if660 to 26,000 credits a monthNative 4K stills, image seriesCommercial use on paid plansPick Google Veo ifAlready on Google AI Plus or ProPer-second Gemini API pricesStandard, Fast or Lite variantsAbout $8.80 to $10/mo · free tier: Not confirmed Google AI Plus $4.99/mo; API from $0.05/s free tier: No Kling AI vs Google Veo in 2026: credit plans or Google access
Pick Kling AI for credit plans with 4K stills, Google Veo for Google AI plans or a per-second API

Pick Kling AI if

  • You want a monthly credit plan, from 660 credits on Standard to 26,000 on Ultra
  • You also need still images, including native 4K and consistent image series
  • You need commercial use and watermark removal, which Kling lists on paid plans
  • You want a discounted first month to test a plan

Pick Veo 3.1 if

  • You already pay for Google AI Plus ($4.99/mo) or Google AI Pro ($19.99/mo)
  • You are a developer who wants published per-second prices on the Gemini API
  • You want to trade quality for cost with Standard, Fast and Lite variants
  • You want paid API inputs kept out of model training

What Kling AI does better, and what Veo 3.1 does better

Kling AI
  • Still images up to native 4K with Kling Image 3.0
  • Image series in a consistent style for storyboards
  • Commercial use and watermark removal listed on paid plans
  • Discounted first month on monthly plans
Veo 3.1
  • Published per-second API prices for Standard, Fast and Lite
  • Access through Gemini and Flow on a Google AI plan
  • Paid API content not used to improve products
  • Published model card and tech report

Kling AI vs Veo 3.1 pricing: plans and free tiers

Side-by-side comparison
PlanToolPriceLimits
Kling StandardKling AI$10/mo, also reported at $8.80 (first month $6.99)660 credits/month
Kling ProKling AI$32.56 to $37/mo (first month $25.99)3,000 credits/month
Kling PremierKling AI$80.96 to $92/mo (first month $64.99)8,000 credits/month
Kling UltraKling AI$159.99 to $180/mo (first month $127.99)26,000 credits/month
Google AI PlusVeo 3.1$4.99/mo (US page)Not stated
Google AI ProVeo 3.1$19.99/mo (US page)Not stated
Veo 3.1 Standard (API)Veo 3.1$0.40 per second (720p/1080p), $0.60 at 4KNot stated
Veo 3.1 Fast (API)Veo 3.1$0.10 to $0.30 per secondNot stated
Veo 3.1 Lite (API)Veo 3.1$0.05 to $0.08 per secondNo 4K

USD as published on each vendor's pricing page, checked Oct 11, 2026. Kling AI pricing in full · Veo 3.1 pricing in full

Usage limits: what the vendors state

Side-by-side comparison
Kling AIVeo 3.1
Monthly allowance660 to 26,000 credits/month by planNot stated for Google AI plans; API billed per second
Resolution1080p/4K video on paid plans; exact resolution per plan not verified720p, 1080p, 4K (no 4K on Lite)
Clip lengthNot statedNot stated
Seats / teamBusiness option listed; details not statedNot stated

Feature comparison

Side-by-side comparison
FeatureKling AIVeo 3.1
Text-to-videoYesYes
Image-to-videoYesYes
Audio with videoYes (Kling 4.0)Yes (Veo 3 and 3.1)
Image generationYes (Kling Image 3.0, native 4K)No
4K outputYes on paid plansYes on Standard and Fast
APIYes, billed separatelyYes, billed per second
Mobile appsNot statedNot stated

Privacy and data training

Side-by-side comparison
Kling AIVeo 3.1
Training on your dataNot statedGemini API free tier content used to improve products; paid tier not
RetentionNot statedNot stated
Commercial useIncluded on paid plansNot stated
Business controlsNot statedEnterprise tier with advanced security and compliance

Taken from each vendor's published policy pages at the time of our check. Policies change; the source links are at the bottom.

Switching between Kling AI and Veo 3.1: what carries over

Kling AI → Veo 3.1Carries over
  • Text prompts and reference images
  • Prompts that describe sound, since Veo also generates audio
You lose
  • Native 4K still images and image series
  • Monthly credit allowance
  • Commercial use terms listed on paid plans
Veo 3.1 → Kling AICarries over
  • Text prompts and starting images
  • Audio cues in prompts, since Kling 4.0 generates audio
You lose
  • Video generation bundled in a Google AI plan
  • Published per-second API prices
  • Choice of Standard, Fast and Lite variants

Pros and cons

Kling AI
  • Plans start under $10/month
  • Paid plans include commercial use and watermark removal
  • Separate developer API
  • Usage limited by monthly credits
  • Kling 4.0 Flash listed only on the Ultra plan
  • Free tier not confirmed on the pricing page
Veo 3.1
  • Generates audio together with video
  • Lite variant starts at $0.05 per second (720p)
  • Available both via API and Google AI consumer plans
  • Not available on the Gemini API free tier
  • API billed per second of output, so costs scale with length
  • Consumer video generation requires a paid Google AI plan

The two tools

Open the live comparison table

Kling AI or Veo 3.1: how to choose

  • Need 4K stills or image series next to video: choose Kling AI
  • Need commercial use and no watermark spelled out: choose Kling AI
  • Already pay for Google AI Plus or Pro: try Veo there first
  • Building an app and need published per-second prices: choose Veo on the Gemini API
  • Want a fixed monthly budget in credits: choose Kling AI and check the price in the app before buying

Frequently asked questions

Is Kling AI cheaper than Google Veo?

It depends on the route. Google AI Plus is $4.99/mo on the US page, while Kling Standard is reported at about $8.80 to $10/mo with 660 credits. On the API, Veo 3.1 Lite starts at $0.05 per second; Kling's API pricing was not verified.

Can I use Kling or Veo for free?

Not confirmed for Kling: its pricing page does not confirm a free tier. Veo is not on the Gemini API free tier, and consumer video generation needs a paid Google AI plan.

Where can I use Veo 3.1?

In the Gemini app, in Google Flow, or through the Gemini API with billing enabled. Kling runs in its own web app and has a separate developer API.

Do Kling and Veo generate audio?

Yes. Kling 4.0 generates video with synchronized audio, and Veo 3 and 3.1 generate sound effects, ambient noise and dialogue with the video.

Sources

Only official vendor pages. No third-party benchmarks, forum threads or press were used. How we review.