AI code editor with agents, cloud agents and code review, offered with a free Hobby tier and paid plans.
Free stops at: Limited Agent requests
Free · paid from $20/mo US · checked Sep 29
Head-to-head · profiles checked Oct 1, 2026
Pick Cursor for an agent reachable from the editor, CLI, Slack and GitHub, with Bugbot review and a stated privacy-mode policy. Pick Devin Desktop (formerly Windsurf) for a full IDE on macOS, Windows and Linux with unlimited free Tab completions. Cursor and Devin Desktop both start at $20/month and have a free tier.
We based this on our verified profiles of Cursor (pricing checked 2026-09-29) and Devin Desktop, formerly Windsurf (checked 2026-10-01); we ran no benchmark, used no third-party benchmarks and took no vendor payments.
Cursor and Windsurf are both AI coding editors with a free tier and a $20/month paid plan, so the choice comes down to details. Cursor is documented with a CLI, Slack and GitHub surfaces, Bugbot code review and a stated privacy-mode training policy. Devin Desktop (formerly Windsurf) is documented for macOS, Windows and Linux, a JetBrains plugin, unlimited Tab completions on the free plan and a $200/month Max tier. Pick Cursor for review and privacy documentation, Devin Desktop for a full IDE with multi-agent management.
Based on our verified profiles of Cursor (pricing checked 2026-09-29) and Devin Desktop, formerly Windsurf (checked 2026-10-01); no benchmark was run.
If you only want the answer, this is the table. Everything below is the evidence from the two documented profiles.
| You want to | Use | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Write or refactor code in a project | Either | Cursor edits code and shows diffs; Devin Desktop is a full IDE with agentic multi-file changes |
| Get code autocompleted while typing | Devin Desktop (formerly Windsurf) | Devin Desktop lists unlimited Tab completions and inline edits on every plan, including Free |
| Hand a long task to a cloud agent | Either | Cursor cloud agents on Individual and above; Devin Cloud agents on paid plans |
| Get automatic review on pull requests | Cursor | Cursor lists Bugbot agentic PR review, included on Teams and usage-billed on Individual |
| Run several agents and track their status | Devin Desktop (formerly Windsurf) | Devin Desktop's Agent Command Center has Spaces, Kanban and multi-agent management |
| Ask the agent from Slack or GitHub | Cursor | Cursor lists Slack and GitHub as surfaces beside the desktop app and CLI |
| Code on Windows or Linux | Devin Desktop (formerly Windsurf) | Devin Desktop lists macOS, Windows and Linux; Cursor's profile shows a macOS download |
| Use the editor inside JetBrains | Devin Desktop (formerly Windsurf) | Devin Desktop lists a JetBrains plugin; Cursor's docs mention JetBrains and Xcode integrations |
| Connect your own tools and conventions | Cursor | Cursor lists MCPs, skills, hooks, rules and subagents |
| Keep code out of model training | Cursor | Cursor states privacy mode keeps code from training; Devin Desktop's training use is not stated |
| Plan | Tool | Price | Limits |
|---|---|---|---|
| Cursor Hobby | Cursor | Free | Limited Agent requests |
| Cursor Individual (Pro) | Cursor | $20/mo | Extended limits on Agent; usage beyond included amount billed on demand |
| Cursor Individual (Pro+ / Ultra) | Cursor | Not stated | Pro+ recommended for daily agent users, Ultra for power users |
| Cursor Teams (Standard / Premium) | Cursor | $40/user/mo | Included usage plus on-demand billing |
| Cursor Enterprise | Cursor | Custom | Pooled usage |
| Devin Desktop Free | Devin Desktop (formerly Windsurf) | $0 | Light agent quota resetting daily and weekly; limited models; up to 10 concurrent sessions |
| Devin Desktop Pro | Devin Desktop (formerly Windsurf) | $20/mo | Increased quotas; full model availability; up to 10 concurrent sessions |
| Devin Desktop Max | Devin Desktop (formerly Windsurf) | $200/mo | Significantly higher quotas than Pro; unlimited concurrent sessions |
| Devin Desktop Teams | Devin Desktop (formerly Windsurf) | $80/mo + $40/mo per full seat | Up to 200 users; unlimited concurrent sessions |
| Devin Desktop Enterprise | Devin Desktop (formerly Windsurf) | Contact sales | Custom quotas; unlimited users with custom terms |
USD as published on each vendor's pricing page, checked Oct 1, 2026. Cursor pricing in full · Devin Desktop (formerly Windsurf) pricing in full
| Cursor | Devin Desktop (formerly Windsurf) | |
|---|---|---|
| Agent quota | Hobby: limited Agent requests; Individual: extended limits, then on-demand billing | Free: light quota; paid plans: higher quotas, extra usage bought at API pricing |
| Concurrent sessions | Not stated | Up to 10 on Free and Pro; unlimited on Max and Teams |
| Seats / team | Teams from $40 per user per month; Enterprise uses pooled usage | Teams up to 200 users; Enterprise unlimited users with custom terms |
| Billing beyond included usage | On-demand, billed in arrears | Extra usage purchased at API pricing |
| Feature | Cursor | Devin Desktop (formerly Windsurf) |
|---|---|---|
| Coding agent | Yes | Yes |
| Cloud agents | Yes (Individual and above) | Yes (Devin Cloud, paid plans) |
| Tab completions | Not stated | Yes (unlimited on all plans) |
| Code review | Yes (Bugbot) | Not stated |
| Agents / tools | MCPs, skills, hooks, subagents | Local and cloud agents via Agent Client Protocol |
| API | Not stated | Not included on Free; separate on Pro, Max and Teams; included on Enterprise |
| CLI | Yes | Yes |
| IDE plugins | JetBrains and Xcode listed in docs | JetBrains plugin |
| Desktop platforms | macOS download shown | macOS, Windows, Linux |
| Cursor | Devin Desktop (formerly Windsurf) | |
|---|---|---|
| Training on your data | Not used unless flagged for security review, reported as feedback, or you agreed; with privacy mode on, not used by Cursor or model providers | Not stated in available pages |
| Retention | Not stated | Not stated in available pages |
| Business controls | Team-wide privacy mode, SAML/OIDC SSO, audit logs (Enterprise) | Centralized admin controls (Teams, Enterprise), SAML/OIDC SSO (Enterprise), dedicated and VPC deployment options (Enterprise) |
Taken from each vendor's published policy pages at the time of our check. Policies change; the source links are at the bottom.
AI code editor with agents, cloud agents and code review, offered with a free Hobby tier and paid plans.
Free stops at: Limited Agent requests
Free · paid from $20/mo US · checked Sep 29
AI coding IDE, formerly Windsurf, now Devin Desktop: manage local and cloud coding agents inside a full IDE.
Free stops at: Light quota for agent usage, resets daily and weekly, Limited model availability
Verified windsurf.com (opens Devin Desktop (formerly Windsurf) website in a new tab)
Free · paid from $20/mo US · checked Sep 29
Yes, Devin Desktop is the new name for Windsurf. Our profile lists Devin Desktop as the new name for Windsurf, from vendor Cognition AI. We keep the Windsurf name in this comparison because many people still search for it.
Neither is clearly cheaper: Cursor and Windsurf both list a paid individual plan at $20/month and a free plan. Windsurf's Max tier is $200/month. Cursor's Pro+ and Ultra prices were not shown in the pages we read.
Neither free plan wins outright. Cursor's Hobby needs no credit card but has limited Agent requests. Windsurf's Free plan has unlimited Tab completions and inline edits but a light agent quota and limited models.
Cursor Teams is from $40 per user per month. Windsurf Teams is $80/month as a team base plus $40/month per full seat, for up to 200 users. Both list SAML/OIDC SSO, on Teams for Cursor and on Enterprise for Windsurf.
Only official vendor pages. No third-party benchmarks, forum threads or press were used. How we review.
compare>