Image generationDocumented overviewLast checked Oct 31, 2026

Ideogram: Pricing, Features & Best Use Cases

Web app, API and MCP connector for generating and editing images (and video) from text prompts, with a focus on text rendering inside images.

Who should use Ideogram

Use Ideogram when you need images with readable text, logos or transparent-background PNGs, and want a free weekly credit allowance to try it before paying. Based on the vendor's documentation, not on a hands-on test.

Best for: Designers making posters, banners and logos with text

Also a good fit for

  • Small businesses producing marketing graphics
  • Developers adding image generation through the API

Consider another tool if you need private images without paying (Free images are public)

Or if

  • You need a refund option (no refunds on subscription payments are offered)
  • You want a single app that includes a large video-editing suite

Ideogram pricing and usage limits

Prices checked Oct 31, 2026 on the official US pricing page. Official pricing ↗ Prices and limits change often.

Ideogram pricing page with plans and prices — screenshot of the image generation AI tool, Oct 31, 2026
The official Ideogram pricing page as we saw it. docs.ideogram.ai, captured Oct 31, 2026

Free access and trial conditions

Free plan: 30 credits per week, requires a Google, Apple or Microsoft sign-in; everything generated is public.

Not stated

Paid plans: what changes as you upgrade

Ideogram · web

Free

Free

30 credits per weekAPI billed separatelyMonth

For: Trying the platform

Includes

  • Sign-in with Google, Apple or Microsoft required for free credits
  • Auto, all Ideogram models, Z-Image and P-Image-Ideogram

Limits

  • 30 credits per week
  • Everything generated is public

checked Oct 31, 2026 source (opens in a new tab)

Ideogram · web

Plus

$20/mo

$15 per month billed yearly ($180 per year)

2,400 credits per monthAPI billed separatelyMonth

For: Individual creators

Includes

  • Private generation
  • Quality export
  • Slower unlimited queue after credits run out

Limits

  • 2,400 credits per month
  • Unused monthly credits do not roll over

checked Oct 31, 2026 source (opens in a new tab)

Ideogram · web

Pro

$60/mo

$42 per month billed yearly ($504 per year)

7,500 credits per monthAPI billed separatelyMonth

For: Heavy users and batch work

Includes

  • Everything in Plus
  • Batch Generation
  • Larger generation queue

Limits

  • 7,500 credits per month

checked Oct 31, 2026 source (opens in a new tab)

Ideogram · web

Team

$30/mo per user per month

$20 per user per month billed yearly ($240 per user per year)

3,600 credits per user per monthAPI billed separatelyMonth

For: Teams

Includes

  • Central billing and administration
  • Credits assigned to each member

Limits

  • 3,600 credits per user per month
  • Minimum 2 users

checked Oct 31, 2026 source (opens in a new tab)

Ideogram · web

Enterprise agreement

Custom pricing

Set by the organization's agreementAPI billed separatelyCustom

For: Organizations

Includes

  • Features and allowances set by agreement

Limits

  • Set by the organization's agreement

checked Oct 31, 2026 source (opens in a new tab)

Usage caps, credits and extra costs

Credits cost $0.01 each; one-time presets are $10, $20, $50 or $100, custom $1 to $300, and purchased credits expire 365 days after purchase. Video, premium partner models and some edits need a paid plan or purchased credits.

Prices are in US dollars, before tax.

What is Ideogram, and how does it work?

Ideogram is an image generation service at ideogram.ai. Its own Ideogram models (4.5, 4.0, 3.0 and transparent-background variants) run alongside partner models such as GPT Image and Nano Banana. The docs also describe a Studio for partial edits, extending images, adding text and layers, upscaling, background and object removal, batch generation from a spreadsheet, custom models trained on your images, video generation, an API and an MCP connector for Claude, ChatGPT and Cursor.

What you provide and what you get back

How Ideogram works: what you provide, where it runs and what you get backYOU PROVIDEYour inputText promptsReference images (up to 5 on Ideo…Spreadsheet of prompts for batch…IMAGE GENERATIONIdeogramWeb, API, MCPfrom $20/mo (Plus)free tier availableaccount requiredchecked Oct 31, 2026YOU GET BACKThe resultImagesTransparent-background PNGsVideoinput → Ideogram → output · from the vendor's own pages, no hands-on test unless stated
What you give Ideogram and what comes back, from its documentation

You provide

  • Text prompts
  • Reference images (up to 5 on Ideogram 4.5)
  • Spreadsheet of prompts for batch generation

You get back

  • Images
  • Transparent-background PNGs
  • Video

Where you can use it

Platforms
Web, API, MCP, iOS
Account
Required
Own models
Ideogram 4.5, 4.0, 3.0 and transparent variants
Partner models
GPT Image 2.0, GPT Image 2.5, Nano Banana 2 and Pro (premium)
Credit price
$0.01 per purchased credit
Annual discount
Plus $15 vs $20, Pro $42 vs $60 per month
API rate limit
10 in-flight requests by default

Best use cases for Ideogram

Scenarios are worked out by our editors from the documentation; the actual result depends on your input and plan.

Making posters, banners and thumbnails with readable text

Who
Designers and marketers
You provide
Prompt with the exact text
Expected result
Image with the text rendered in it
Plan needed
Plus
Limitation
Credit cost varies by model, quality and size source (opens in a new tab)

Creating logos and transparent-background stickers or icons

Who
Small businesses and print-on-demand sellers
You provide
Prompt describing the mark
Expected result
PNG with no background
Plan needed
Plus
Limitation
Commercial use depends on the Terms of Service source (opens in a new tab)

Generating many images from a spreadsheet of prompts

Who
Teams producing catalog or social content
You provide
Spreadsheet with up to 500 prompts
Expected result
Batch of generated images
Plan needed
Pro
Limitation
Batch Generation is listed under Pro source (opens in a new tab)

Ideogram features and their limits

Text rendering in images

Renders text inside images, controlled by prompts or JSON Produces posters and ads without adding text afterward

Access: All plansLimit: Output quality is not quantified in the docs source (opens in a new tab)

Ideogram models 4.5, 4.0 and 3.0

Offers several own models; 4.5 accepts up to 5 reference images, 4.0 supports very wide aspect ratios, 3.0 has style presets and negative prompts Lets you pick a model for editing, banners or brand graphics

Access: All plans, including FreeLimit: Credit cost depends on resolution, quality and image count source (opens in a new tab)

Transparent-background images

Ideogram 4.0 Transparent and 3.0 Transparent create images with no background Gives stickers, icons and clip art without manual cutout

Access: All plans, including FreeLimit: Neither model accepts reference images source (opens in a new tab)

Studio editing and upscaling

Partial edits, extending images, adding text and layers, upscaling, background and object removal Edits an image without leaving the app

Access: Web; edits and upscales cost credits on all paid plansLimit: Plan-level access details are not itemized source (opens in a new tab)

Batch generation

Generates up to 500 prompts from a spreadsheet Saves repeated manual runs

Access: ProLimit: Listed as a Pro feature in the plan table source (opens in a new tab)

Custom models and partner models

Trains models on a brand, product or style and offers partner models (GPT Image, Nano Banana) Keeps a consistent look across outputs

Access: Custom and premium partner models need credits on paid plansLimit: Premium partner models need a paid plan or purchased credits source (opens in a new tab)

API and MCP

Exposes image and video endpoints and connects to Claude, ChatGPT and Cursor Automates generation from code or assistants

Access: API key from Settings, shares the account credit balanceLimit: Default rate limit is 10 in-flight requests source (opens in a new tab)

Ideogram pros and cons

Where Ideogram is strong

  • Free plan with 30 credits per week You can test the product before paying documented source (opens in a new tab)
  • Several Ideogram models available on every plan including Free Free users are not locked to one older model documented source (opens in a new tab)
  • Plus, Pro, Team and Enterprise images are private until published Paid users control what is shared documented source (opens in a new tab)
  • Purchased credits last 365 days and stay usable after cancelling Top-ups are not lost at once if you stop subscribing documented source (opens in a new tab)

Limitations to check before paying

  • Free plan images are public Free is unsuitable for confidential work documented source (opens in a new tab)
  • Unused monthly credits do not roll over Unspent allowance is lost each month documented source (opens in a new tab)
  • No refunds on subscription payments Cancel at least 5 days before renewal documented source (opens in a new tab)
  • Terms do not state whether prompts and images are excluded from model training The privacy policy lists training the models among uses of collected information, with no opt-out stated documented source (opens in a new tab)

How to use Ideogram for making a poster with readable text

Ideogram documentation — screenshot of the image generation AI tool, Oct 31, 2026
Ideogram documentation: where the steps below come from. docs.ideogram.ai, captured Oct 31, 2026

Set up Ideogram

  1. Open ideogram.ai and sign in with Google, Apple or Microsoft to get free weekly credits
  2. Open the Image app and choose Auto or an Ideogram model
  3. Check the credit quote shown on the Generate button

Example: making a poster with readable text

  1. Write a prompt that includes the exact text to appear
  2. Pick an aspect ratio suited to a poster or banner
  3. Generate and review the text rendering
  4. Edit in Studio or regenerate if letters are wrong

Review and export the result

  1. Check the spelling of every word in the image
  2. Confirm the commercial-use terms before selling the design
Example prompt suggested by our editors (not a recorded output of the product)
A vertical poster for a neighborhood bake sale, bold hand-lettered title reading 'Saturday Bake Sale', warm yellow background, simple flat illustration of a cake.

Ideogram API

Ideogram documentation — screenshot of the image generation AI tool, Oct 31, 2026
Ideogram documentation (continued). docs.ideogram.ai, captured Oct 31, 2026

API access and separate billing

Ideogram has no public API in its official documentation. Default rate limit is 10 in-flight requests; keys are created in Settings under API. API documentation ↗

Privacy, data use and commercial rights

Summarized from the vendor's current policies; this is not legal advice and a vendor's badge is not an independent audit.

How your inputs and outputs are handled

Terms: Ideogram does not claim ownership of User Input or User Output. Generated images may be publicly displayed with account handle and profile picture.

Privacy policy lists training the models that power the Services among uses of collected information; it does not state an opt-out.

Kept as long as reasonably necessary for the purposes in the Privacy Policy; no fixed period stated.

Commercial use and plan restrictions

Terms section 2.1 allows commercial use of outputs; Ideogram disclaims liability for it.

Free and legacy Basic images are public; Plus, Pro, Team and Enterprise images are private until published.

Controls for business users

  • Some team workspaces turn community publishing off

Policies: ideogram.ai/legal/tos ideogram.ai/legal/privacy

Other tools to consider instead of Ideogram

"Better suited" is based on documented features and pricing, not on a head-to-head test.

Midjourney: better suited to

Adobe Firefly: better suited to

Leonardo.Ai: better suited to

Recraft: better suited to

ChatGPT: better suited to

Alternatives
AlternativeWhen to choose itPricingLimitation
Midjourney——Compare
Adobe Firefly——Compare
Leonardo.Ai——Compare
Recraft——Compare
ChatGPT——

Explore Ideogram further

Ideogram user reviews

No user reviews yet.

Used Ideogram? Be the first to share your experience.

Ideogram FAQ

How many credits does the Free plan give?

30 credits per week, only with a Google, Apple or Microsoft sign-in. Email and password accounts get none.

source (opens in a new tab)

Are Free plan images private?

No. On Free, everything generated is public. Plus, Pro, Team and Enterprise images stay private until you publish them.

source (opens in a new tab)

What happens when my monthly credits run out?

On Plus, Pro and Team, Ideogram models continue in a slower queue with no limit. Custom models, partner models, reference-image generations, edits and upscales still need credits.

source (opens in a new tab)

Do unused credits roll over?

Unused monthly credits do not roll over. Purchased credits expire 365 days after purchase.

source (opens in a new tab)

Can I get a refund on a subscription?

Ideogram does not offer refunds on subscription payments. Cancel at least 5 days before renewal to stop the next charge.

source (opens in a new tab)

Can I use Ideogram images commercially?

The Terms of Service section 2.1 allows commercial use of outputs, while disclaiming liability. Read the Terms before selling designs.

source (opens in a new tab)

Can I use Ideogram from Claude or ChatGPT?

Yes, the docs say MCP works with assistants such as Claude, ChatGPT and Cursor, signing in with your Ideogram account.

source (opens in a new tab)

Sources and review methodology

Official sources and verification dates

Not verified: Per-model and per-operation credit costs; API per-unit prices in dollars (shown only inside the account); Whether prompts and images are excluded from training (no opt-out stated); Watermark rules; Official pricing page contents (HTTP 403); Free trial for paid plans; Basic plan ($8/month) is legacy and no longer sold to new subscribers, per the official docs.

How we documented and maintain this page

Every fact about Ideogram above comes from the 9 official pages listed here, last compared on Oct 31, 2026; we have not run Ideogram ourselves, so it has no editorial score. How we check and re-check pages.

Article updated Oct 31, 2026; prices checked Oct 31, 2026. Outbound links to vendors are plain links; we do not earn commissions. How we review · Report an error