Head-to-head · profiles checked Oct 5, 2026

D-ID vs HeyGen in 2026: talking avatars or a translation studio

D-ID costs less to start and bundles its API; HeyGen gives you a lasting free plan, longer videos and more translation languages. D-ID Lite is $4.70/month billed annually for 10 minutes a month, with a 5-minute cap per video. HeyGen Free allows 3 one-minute videos a month, and Creator at $29/month allows 30-minute videos with 600 credits. D-ID has no free plan beyond a 14-day trial.

Starting price$4.70/mo billed annually · Free; Creator $29/moD-ID Creative Reality Studio · HeyGen
Free tier14-day trial only · YesD-ID Creative Reality Studio · HeyGen
Plans documented5 · 5D-ID Creative Reality Studio · HeyGen
Longest video5 minutes · 30 min (Creator), 60 min (Business)D-ID Creative Reality Studio · HeyGen

We based this comparison on our D-ID Creative Reality Studio profile verified 2026-10-01 and our HeyGen profile verified 2026-10-05, built from official vendor pages; it uses no third-party benchmarks and no vendor paid for placement.

Is D-ID Creative Reality Studio better than HeyGen? The short answer

D-ID Creative Reality Studio is the cheaper way in: Lite costs $4.70/month billed annually and every plan includes API access, but videos stop at 5 minutes and Lite carries a watermark with no commercial license. HeyGen has a lasting Free plan and monthly prices from $29, allows 30-minute videos on Creator and lists 175+ translation languages on paid plans. Its API is priced separately. Pick D-ID for short presenter clips and API work on a small budget; pick HeyGen for longer videos, wide localization and team features like SCORM export.

Based on our D-ID Creative Reality Studio profile verified 2026-10-01 and HeyGen profile verified 2026-10-05, both from official vendor pages; no benchmark was run.

D-ID Creative Reality Studio and HeyGen, as their sites look today

Our own captures of each vendor's public pages. Click a frame for the full-size image.

D-ID Creative Reality Studio homepage — screenshot of the video AI tool, Oct 1, 2026
D-ID Creative Reality Studio homepage. d-id.com, captured Oct 1, 2026
HeyGen homepage — screenshot of the video AI tool, Oct 5, 2026
HeyGen homepage. heygen.com, captured Oct 5, 2026
D-ID Creative Reality Studio pricing page with plans and prices — screenshot of the video AI tool, Oct 1, 2026
D-ID Creative Reality Studio plans and prices. d-id.com, captured Oct 1, 2026
HeyGen pricing page with plans and prices — screenshot of the video AI tool, Oct 5, 2026
HeyGen plans and prices. heygen.com, captured Oct 5, 2026

D-ID Creative Reality Studio or HeyGen: which to use, by task

If you only want the answer, this is the table. Everything below is the evidence from the two documented profiles.

Side-by-side comparison
You want toUseWhy
Try avatar videos without payingHeyGenHeyGen Free gives 3 videos a month; D-ID gives a 14-day trial with 3 minutes
Make a short talking-avatar clip on a small budgetD-ID Creative Reality StudioD-ID Lite is $4.70/month billed annually for 10 minutes a month
Record a training video longer than 5 minutesHeyGenD-ID caps each video at 5 minutes; HeyGen allows 30 minutes on Creator
Translate a video into another languageEitherD-ID keeps your voice in 40+ languages; HeyGen adds lip-sync and 175+ languages on Creator
Make a speaking avatar from a photoEitherD-ID animates personal photo avatars; HeyGen has Talking photo
Use my own face as the presenterEitherD-ID offers personal video avatars; HeyGen includes 1 Custom Video Avatar on Free and 5 on Business
Generate avatar videos from my own appD-ID Creative Reality StudioD-ID includes API access in every plan; HeyGen prices its API separately
Build presenter slides from PowerPointEitherD-ID has a PowerPoint plugin; HeyGen accepts PowerPoint or PDF input
Publish course modules to an LMSHeyGenHeyGen Business lists SCORM export and LMS integrations
Export in 4KHeyGenHeyGen Pro exports 4K; D-ID premium avatars top out at 1080p

Who should pick which

D-ID suits cheap short avatar clips with an included API, HeyGen suits a free plan, longer videos and wide translation Which one? Pick D-ID ifLite $4.70/mo billed annuallyAPI included in every planClips up to 5 minutes eachPick HeyGen ifFree plan, 3 videos a monthVideos up to 30-60 minutesSCORM, LMS and SSO on BusinessLite $4.70/mo billed annually · free tier: 14-day trial Free; Creator $29/mo · free tier: Yes D-ID vs HeyGen in 2026: talking avatars or a translation studio
Pick D-ID for cheap short clips with an included API, HeyGen for a free plan, longer videos and wide translation

Pick D-ID Creative Reality Studio if

  • You want the lowest paid entry ($4.70/month billed annually on Lite)
  • You want API access included in the plan instead of priced separately
  • Your videos stay under 5 minutes each
  • You need a written promise that customer content is not used for model training

Pick HeyGen if

  • You want a free plan that does not expire after 14 days
  • You make videos longer than 5 minutes (up to 30 on Creator, 60 on Business)
  • You translate videos into many languages (175+ on Creator) with lip-sync
  • You need SCORM export, LMS integrations or SAML/SSO for a team

What D-ID Creative Reality Studio does better, and what HeyGen does better

D-ID Creative Reality Studio
  • API access included in every plan, Trial included
  • Lower entry price: Lite at $4.70/month billed annually
  • Translation that keeps the speaker's own voice
  • Stated policy of no model training on customer content
HeyGen
  • Ongoing Free plan with 3 videos a month
  • Longer videos: 30 minutes on Creator, 60 on Business, no max on Enterprise
  • Lip-synced translation with 175+ languages on Creator
  • 4K export on Pro, SCORM export and SAML/SSO on Business

D-ID Creative Reality Studio vs HeyGen pricing: plans and free tiers

Side-by-side comparison
PlanToolPriceLimits
D-ID TrialD-ID Creative Reality Studio$0 (14 days)3 minutes total; full-screen watermark
D-ID LiteD-ID Creative Reality Studio$56/year ($4.70/mo)10 min/month; watermark; no commercial license
D-ID ProD-ID Creative Reality Studio$191/year ($16/mo)15 min/month; commercial license; 1080p premium avatars
D-ID AdvancedD-ID Creative Reality Studio$1,293/year ($108/mo)100 min/month
D-ID EnterpriseD-ID Creative Reality StudioCustom (sales)Custom minute allocation
HeyGen FreeHeyGen$03 videos/month, up to 1 minute each
HeyGen CreatorHeyGen$29/mo600 credits; videos up to 30 minutes; 1080p
HeyGen ProHeyGen$49/mo1,000 credits; videos up to 30 minutes; 4K
HeyGen BusinessHeyGen$149/mo + $20 per extra seat1,500 credits; videos up to 60 minutes
HeyGen EnterpriseHeyGenCustom (sales)No video duration max

USD as published on each vendor's pricing page, checked Oct 5, 2026. D-ID Creative Reality Studio pricing in full · HeyGen pricing in full

Usage limits: what the vendors state

Side-by-side comparison
D-ID Creative Reality StudioHeyGen
Monthly allowanceMinutes: 10 (Lite), 15 (Pro), 100 (Advanced); no rolloverCredits: 600 (Creator), 1,000 (Pro), 1,500 (Business); Creator lists credit rollovers
Length per video5 minutes1 min (Free), 30 min (Creator, Pro), 60 min (Business)
Resolution1280x1280 standard; 1080p premium avatars on Pro and above1080p on Creator; 4K on Pro and above
Seats / teamRole-based access on Enterprise; seat counts not statedBusiness adds $20 per extra seat per month

Feature comparison

Side-by-side comparison
FeatureD-ID Creative Reality StudioHeyGen
Stock avatars100+500+
Custom avatar from your photo or videoYesYes
Voice cloningYesYes (Creator and above)
Video translationYes, 40+ languagesYes, with lip-sync
Live or agentic avatarsAgentic videosLiveAvatar
APIIncluded in all plansPriced separately
PowerPointPowerPoint pluginPowerPoint or PDF input
Export formatsMP4MP4, SCORM (Business)

Privacy and data training

Side-by-side comparison
D-ID Creative Reality StudioHeyGen
Training on your dataNever used to train D-ID modelsAI model training listed among purposes; opt-out terms not confirmed
RetentionFree accounts inactive for 6 months are deleted after an email noticeNot stated
Business controlsRole-based permissions, admin controls, audit loggingSAML/SSO (Business), SCIM and Team MFA (Enterprise)
Commercial usePro and above only; Lite is internal useNot stated

Taken from each vendor's published policy pages at the time of our check. Policies change; the source links are at the bottom.

Switching between D-ID Creative Reality Studio and HeyGen: what carries over

D-ID Creative Reality Studio → HeyGenCarries over
  • Your scripts and text prompts
  • Photos for talking-photo avatars
  • MP4 videos you already exported
You lose
  • API access bundled with the plan
  • PowerPoint plugin
  • Stated no-training policy
HeyGen → D-ID Creative Reality StudioCarries over
  • Your scripts and text prompts
  • Photos for personal avatars
  • MP4 videos you already exported
You lose
  • Videos longer than 5 minutes
  • SCORM export and LMS integrations
  • 4K export

Pros and cons

D-ID Creative Reality Studio
  • 14-day free trial with 3 minutes
  • Lite from $4.70/month billed annually
  • API access included in all plans
  • Minute caps that do not roll over
  • Watermark on Trial and Lite
  • Commercial license only from Pro upward
HeyGen
  • Free plan lets you try it
  • Published monthly prices
  • Separate API pricing page
  • Free plan limited to 3 videos a month, 1 minute each
  • Paid plans use credits
  • Business adds $20 per extra seat

The two tools

Not confirmed
No user reviews yet

Web studio for making avatar-presented videos from text, audio or photos, with voice cloning and translation into 40+ languages.

Watch out: Minutes-based caps (e.g. 10 min/month on Lite); unused minutes do not roll over monthly.

Listed Not yet reviewed

Verified d-id.com (opens D-ID Creative Reality Studio website in a new tab)

Open the live comparison table

D-ID Creative Reality Studio or HeyGen: how to choose

  • Need to test for free beyond two weeks: choose HeyGen
  • Want the lowest paid price and accept annual billing: choose D-ID
  • Any video runs past 5 minutes: choose HeyGen
  • Calling avatars from your own software: D-ID includes the API
  • Shipping courses to an LMS or need SSO: choose HeyGen Business
  • Commercial ads on a small budget: D-ID Pro at $16/month billed annually

Frequently asked questions

Is D-ID cheaper than HeyGen?

At entry level, yes. D-ID Lite is $4.70/month billed annually ($56/year) for 10 minutes a month, while HeyGen Creator is $29/month. Lite has a watermark and no commercial license, so the like-for-like commercial step is D-ID Pro at $16/month billed annually.

Which one has a free plan, D-ID or HeyGen?

HeyGen has a Free plan with 3 videos per month of up to 1 minute each. D-ID offers a 14-day trial with 3 minutes of video and a full-screen watermark, not an ongoing free plan.

Can D-ID and HeyGen translate my videos?

Both can. D-ID translates into 40+ languages and keeps your own voice. HeyGen translates with matching lip movement, lists 30+ languages on Free and 175+ on Creator, and lets you edit the translation script on Pro.

Do D-ID or HeyGen use my videos to train AI?

D-ID states that customer scripts, audio, photos and videos are never used to train its models. HeyGen's policy lists AI model training among the purposes where it acts as controller; we could not confirm the opt-out terms.

Sources

Only official vendor pages. No third-party benchmarks, forum threads or press were used. How we review.