Head-to-head · profiles checked Oct 1, 2026

Grok vs Gemini in 2026: which one fits your work

Pick Google Gemini for most everyday work: it has confirmed USD prices ($4.99 AI Plus, $19.99 AI Pro), a 1M-token context on AI Pro and Ultra, and ties into Gmail, Docs and Chrome. Pick Grok for live web and X search, image and video generation, or a per-token API. Grok's SuperGrok prices were not visible.

Starting priceFree $0; paid tiers not priced · Free $0; AI Plus $4.99/moGrok · Google Gemini
Free tierYes · YesGrok · Google Gemini
Plans documented4 · 9Grok · Google Gemini
API price (flagship)$2.00 in / $6.00 out per 1M tokens · $0.75 in / $3.75 out per 1M tokens (Gemini 3.8 Flash, promo through 2026-12-31)Grok · Google Gemini

We based this on our verified profiles of Grok (checked 2026-10-01) and Google Gemini (checked 2026-09-30), built from official pricing, docs and policy pages; it uses no third-party benchmarks and no vendor paid for placement.

Is Grok better than Google Gemini? The short answer

Pick Gemini if you live in Google accounts and want one assistant across chat, Gmail, Docs and Chrome, with confirmed USD prices from $4.99/month and a $0 tier. Pick Grok if you want live web and X search with image and video generation, or a per-token API at $2.00 input and $6.00 output per 1M tokens for grok-4.7. Grok's SuperGrok and SuperGrok Heavy prices were not visible when we checked, so a paid Grok tier cannot be priced yet. Gemini's privacy terms are documented in detail, while Grok's privacy and training terms were not found.

Based on our verified profiles of Grok (checked 2026-10-01) and Google Gemini (checked 2026-09-30), built from official pricing, docs and policy pages; no benchmark was run.

Grok and Google Gemini, as their sites look today

Our own captures of each vendor's public pages. Click a frame for the full-size image.

Grok homepage — screenshot of the chat assistants AI tool, Oct 1, 2026
Grok homepage. grok.com, captured Oct 1, 2026
Google Gemini homepage — screenshot of the chat assistants AI tool, Oct 1, 2026
Google Gemini homepage. gemini.google.com, captured Oct 1, 2026
Grok pricing page with plans and prices — screenshot of the chat assistants AI tool, Oct 1, 2026
Grok plans and prices. grok.com, captured Oct 1, 2026
Google Gemini pricing page with plans and prices — screenshot of the chat assistants AI tool, Oct 1, 2026
Google Gemini plans and prices. gemini.google, captured Oct 1, 2026

Grok or Google Gemini: which to use, by task

If you only want the answer, this is the table. Everything below is the evidence from the two documented profiles.

Side-by-side comparison
You want toUseWhy
Search current events on the web and XGrokGrok has built-in web and X search; Gemini lists Deep Research for web reports
Research a topic and get a structured reportGoogle GeminiGemini Deep Research is on all plans and produces a structured report
Generate imagesEitherGrok creates images up to 2K; Gemini Free includes image generation
Generate short videosEitherGrok does video up to 15 seconds; Gemini video generation needs a paid plan
Work with Gmail, Drive, Docs and CalendarGoogle GeminiGemini Connected Apps read and act on Google Workspace; Grok lists no such integrations
Analyze a long document or bookGoogle GeminiGemini AI Pro and Ultra offer a 1M-token context; Gemini Free is 32k
Talk by voiceEitherGrok has speech-to-speech chat; Gemini has Gemini Live on all plans
Draft documents or build a small prototypeGoogle GeminiGemini Canvas is on all plans; Grok lists no equivalent
Build an app on an APIEitherGrok API is billed per token; Gemini API has a free tier and pay-as-you-go
Browse the web for you in ChromeGoogle GeminiGemini in Chrome with auto browse is on AI Pro and Ultra

Who should pick which

Pick Grok for web and X search and a per-token API; pick Gemini for Google apps, set prices and long context Which one? Pick Grok ifBuilt-in web and X searchX user (Heavy includes Premium+)API billed per tokenFree $0; paid tiers not priced · free: YesPick Gemini ifGmail, Drive, Docs, Calendar linkAI Plus $4.99, Pro $19.99/mo1M-token context on AI Pro, UltraFree $0; AI Plus $4.99/mo · free: Yes Grok vs Gemini in 2026: which one fits your work
Which to pick: Grok for web and X search, Gemini for Google apps and long documents

Pick Grok if

  • You want a chat assistant with built-in web and X search
  • You are an X user (SuperGrok Heavy includes X Premium+ at no extra charge)
  • You want to build on an API billed per token, with Imagine and Voice APIs priced separately
  • You are a developer who wants one documented model family for text, image, video and voice

Pick Google Gemini if

  • You use Gmail, Drive, Docs and Calendar and want the assistant connected to them
  • You want confirmed USD pricing: Free, AI Plus $4.99, AI Pro $19.99, AI Ultra from $99.99 per month
  • You analyze long documents (1M-token context on AI Pro and Ultra)
  • You want a free API tier to prototype before paying

What Grok does better, and what Google Gemini does better

Grok
  • Live web and X search built into chat and the API
  • Image and video generation (Imagine) with a separate Imagine API from $0.02 per image
  • Speech-to-speech and text-to-speech, with a Voice API (agent $0.08 per minute)
  • Function calling and remote MCP in the API
Google Gemini
  • Connects to Gmail, Drive, Docs, Calendar, YouTube, Maps and more through Connected Apps
  • Runs inside Chrome, with desktop apps for macOS and Windows
  • Canvas, Gems and Gemini Notebook for drafting and study
  • 1M-token context on AI Pro and Ultra and a free API tier

Grok vs Google Gemini pricing: plans and free tiers

Side-by-side comparison
PlanToolPriceLimits
Grok FreeGrok$0Limits not stated on the pages checked
SuperGrokGrokNot statedChats 5x longer than Lite; Expert mode with higher limits on the best model
SuperGrok HeavyGrokNot statedMaximum usage at the fastest speed
API: grok-4.7Grok$2.00 per 1M input tokens, $6.00 per 1M output tokens500k token context
Gemini FreeGoogle Gemini$0Compute-based limits refreshing every 5 hours up to a weekly cap; 32k token context
Google AI PlusGoogle Gemini$4.99/mo2x higher usage limits than Free
Google AI ProGoogle Gemini$19.99/mo4x higher usage limits than Free; 1M token context
Google AI UltraGoogle Gemini$99.99/mo (5x) or $199.99/mo (20x)5x or 20x higher usage limits than AI Pro
Gemini Enterprise BusinessGoogle GeminiFrom $21/seat/moUp to 300 seats
Gemini Enterprise Standard / PlusGoogle GeminiFrom $30/seat/mo, contact salesUnlimited seats
Gemini Developer API FreeGoogle Gemini$0Lower rate limits; content used to improve Google products
Gemini Developer API PaidGoogle GeminiUsage-based, e.g. $0.75 in / $3.75 out per 1M tokens (Gemini 3.8 Flash)Rate limits tied to usage tier by cumulative spend

USD as published on each vendor's pricing page, checked Oct 1, 2026. Grok pricing in full · Google Gemini pricing in full

Usage limits: what the vendors state

Side-by-side comparison
GrokGoogle Gemini
Messages / rate limitsNot stated for Free; SuperGrok has higher limits on the best modelCompute-based, refresh every 5 hours up to a weekly cap; AI Plus 2x, AI Pro 4x, Ultra 5x or 20x vs the tier below as listed
Context / file size500k tokens (grok-4.7 API)32k tokens on Free, 1M on AI Pro and Ultra; up to 10 files per prompt
Seats / teamNot statedEnterprise Business up to 300 seats; Standard / Plus unlimited

Feature comparison

Side-by-side comparison
FeatureGrokGoogle Gemini
Image generationYesYes
Video generationYesYes, on paid plans
VoiceYesYes
File uploadNot statedYes
Web searchYes, web and XDeep Research reports; Search grounding in the API
Agents / toolsFunction calling, remote MCP, agentic tool callingGemini Spark agent on Ultra; Workflow Builder in Enterprise
APIYes, credits requiredYes, free and paid tiers
Mobile appsFree plan page mentions iOS and AndroidYes

Privacy and data training

Side-by-side comparison
GrokGoogle Gemini
Training on your dataNot statedPersonal accounts with Keep Activity on are used for training; paid API and Enterprise are not
RetentionNot statedAuto-delete after 18 months by default; temporary chats kept 72 hours
Business controlsEnterprise terms, DPA and BAA are linked from the siteEnterprise data not used for training; VPC-SC, CMEK and data residency on Standard / Plus

Taken from each vendor's published policy pages at the time of our check. Policies change; the source links are at the bottom.

Cost per answer on the API

Support assistant: 2,500 input + 500 output tokens

Side-by-side comparison
ModelToolCost per answer
Gemini 3.8 FlashGoogle Gemini$0.0038
Grok 4.7Grok$0.0080

USD at list API prices from research/pricing/models.json; chat subscriptions are flat-rate and not included Run your own numbers in the calculator.

Switching between Grok and Google Gemini: what carries over

Grok → Google GeminiCarries over
  • Chat prompts and use cases such as research and drafting
  • API workloads can move to the Gemini Developer API, which also bills per token
You lose
  • Built-in X search
  • Imagine-style video up to 15 seconds in the free tier, since Gemini video needs a paid plan
Google Gemini → GrokCarries over
  • Chat prompts for research, image generation and voice
  • API workloads can move to the Grok API, which bills per token
You lose
  • Gmail, Drive, Docs and Calendar connections
  • Canvas, Gems, Gemini in Chrome and the free API tier

Pros and cons

Grok
  • Public developer API with documentation
  • Multimodal: text, image, video, voice
  • Built-in web and X search tools
  • Consumer plan prices not shown in the viewed locale
  • Higher limits and best model require SuperGrok or SuperGrok Heavy
  • API usage requires purchasing credits
Google Gemini
  • Substantial free tier including Deep Research, image generation, Live and Canvas
  • 1M-token context window on Pro and Ultra
  • Free developer API tier plus Batch API at 50% discount on paid
  • With Keep Activity on, chats are used to train models and a subset is read by human reviewers
  • Usage limits are compute-based and may change without notice
  • Free plan context window is 32k tokens

The two tools

Google Gemini

Web · Desktop · Mobile

No user reviews yet

Google's multimodal AI assistant, available free with higher limits through Google AI subscriptions.

Free stops at: Varying access to 3.1 Pro, Standard compute-based usage limits; refresh every 5 hours until weekly limit

Listed Not yet reviewed

Verified gemini.google.com (opens Google Gemini website in a new tab)

Free · paid from $4.99/mo US · checked Sep 30

Open the live comparison table

Grok or Google Gemini: how to choose

  • Do you live in Gmail, Drive and Docs? Choose Gemini
  • Do you need live X search? Choose Grok
  • Do you need a price you can budget today? Choose Gemini, since SuperGrok prices are unconfirmed
  • Do you analyze long files? Choose Gemini AI Pro or Ultra for the 1M-token context
  • Do you need privacy terms in writing? Choose Gemini, whose terms are documented; Grok's were not found
  • Default pick: Gemini for most people, Grok if search on X and video matter most

Frequently asked questions

Is Grok or Google Gemini cheaper?

Gemini has confirmed USD prices: Free, then $4.99/month for AI Plus and $19.99/month for AI Pro. Grok has a free plan, but SuperGrok and SuperGrok Heavy prices were not visible in the locale we checked.

Do Grok and Google Gemini have free plans?

Yes, Grok and Google Gemini both have free plans. Grok is free to try on web and in the apps, with limits not stated. Gemini Free includes image generation, Deep Research and Canvas, with a 32k-token context window.

Which has a better API, Grok or Gemini?

The documents show different billing. Grok's grok-4.7 costs $2.00 per 1M input and $6.00 per 1M output tokens and needs purchased credits. Gemini offers a free API tier plus pay-as-you-go tiers based on cumulative spend.

Which is better for privacy, Grok or Gemini?

Gemini documents its terms: personal accounts with Keep Activity on are used for training, and paid API and Enterprise data is not. Grok's privacy and training terms could not be found, so we cannot compare them.

Sources

Only official vendor pages. No third-party benchmarks, forum threads or press were used. How we review.