Entertainment platform for chatting and roleplaying with AI characters created by users.
Free stops at: A free plan exists.
Verified character.ai (opens Character.AI website in a new tab)
Free plan available US price unconfirmed
Head-to-head · profiles checked Sep 30, 2026
Pick Character.AI for roleplay and casual chat with user-made characters, and ChatGPT for writing, research, files and team work. Both have a free plan. ChatGPT Plus costs $20/month and Business Standard $25/seat/month. Character.AI's paid tiers, (c.ai) lite and c.ai+, have no price we could confirm, and its privacy terms are not stated.
We based this comparison on our Character.AI profile verified 2026-09-29 and our ChatGPT profile verified 2026-09-30, both built from vendor pages; it uses no third-party benchmarks and no vendor paid for placement.
Character.AI is built for chatting and roleplaying with user-made characters, and it has a free plan plus two paid tiers whose prices we could not confirm. ChatGPT is a general assistant with a free plan, Plus at $20/month, file analysis, image generation, cited web search and business plans. For fiction and casual character chat, look at Character.AI.
For writing help, research, documents or team use, look at ChatGPT. We found no privacy terms for Character.AI, so that comparison is one-sided.
Based on our Character.AI profile verified 2026-09-29 and ChatGPT profile verified 2026-09-30; Character.AI's own pricing and privacy pages could not be read, and no benchmark was run.
Our own captures of each vendor's public pages. Click a frame for the full-size image.
If you only want the answer, this is the table. Everything below is the evidence from the two documented profiles.
| You want to | Use | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Chat with AI characters | Character.AI | Character.AI centers on user-created characters; ChatGPT's profile lists no character feature |
| Roleplay and interactive stories | Character.AI | Character.AI lists roleplay and interactive storytelling as use cases |
| Write or edit documents | ChatGPT | ChatGPT lists drafting text and editable documents via ChatGPT Work; Character.AI is entertainment-focused |
| Summarize or analyze uploaded files | ChatGPT | ChatGPT documents PDF, spreadsheet and CSV uploads; Character.AI lists none |
| Research with cited web search | ChatGPT | ChatGPT has web search with citations and deep research; Character.AI lists no search |
| Generate images | ChatGPT | ChatGPT generates and edits images; Character.AI lists character image generation only |
| Use voice conversations | ChatGPT | ChatGPT has voice mode; Character.AI voice is not stated |
| Run a team workspace with SSO | ChatGPT | ChatGPT Business and Enterprise offer shared workspaces; Enterprise adds SAML SSO and SCIM |
| Build on a model API | ChatGPT | OpenAI API is a separate product; Character.AI API availability is not stated |
| Casual conversation for free | Character.AI | Both have a free plan; Character.AI also offers free chat styles |
| Plan | Tool | Price | Limits |
|---|---|---|---|
| Character.AI Free | Character.AI | Free | Not stated |
| Character.AI (c.ai) lite | Character.AI | Not confirmed | Daily amount of premium use (per help center snippet) |
| Character.AI c.ai+ | Character.AI | Not confirmed (a past promo cited $9.99/month) | Not stated |
| ChatGPT Free | ChatGPT | Free | Unlimited everyday text chat subject to safeguards; separate caps on uploads, images, voice |
| ChatGPT Go | ChatGPT | Not confirmed (US price) | Higher limits than Free; may include ads |
| ChatGPT Plus | ChatGPT | $20/mo | May include message caps during high demand |
| ChatGPT Pro 100 | ChatGPT | $100/mo | Allowances vary by tier |
| ChatGPT Pro 200 | ChatGPT | $200/mo | More usage than Pro 100 |
| ChatGPT Pro 500 | ChatGPT | $500/mo | Highest included usage of the Pro plans |
| ChatGPT Business Standard | ChatGPT | $25/seat/mo ($20 annual) | Minimum 2 seats |
| ChatGPT Business Premium | ChatGPT | $125/seat/mo ($100 annual) | 5x more usage than Standard seats |
| ChatGPT Enterprise | ChatGPT | Custom (sales) | Depends on agreement |
USD as published on each vendor's pricing page, checked Sep 30, 2026. Character.AI pricing in full · ChatGPT pricing in full
| Character.AI | ChatGPT | |
|---|---|---|
| Messages / rate limits | Free: not stated; (c.ai) lite lists a daily amount of premium use | Free: unlimited everyday text chat subject to safeguards; other tools capped by plan |
| Context / file size | Not stated | Instant context Free 27K, Go/Plus 54K, Pro 128K tokens; Free Library 500 MB |
| Seats / team | No team plans documented | Business needs 2 seats minimum; Enterprise via sales |
| Feature | Character.AI | ChatGPT |
|---|---|---|
| Image generation | Yes (character images) | Yes |
| Voice | Not stated | Yes |
| File upload | Not stated | Yes |
| Web search | Not stated | Yes |
| Memory | Yes (added with paid tiers) | Yes (limited on Free) |
| Agents / tools | Not stated | Codex and ChatGPT Work |
| API | Not stated | Yes, separate product billed by usage |
| Mobile apps | Yes (iOS and Android) | Yes |
| Character.AI | ChatGPT | |
|---|---|---|
| Training on your data | Not stated | Consumer chats may be used unless you opt out or use temporary chat; Business, Enterprise and API not by default |
| Retention | Not stated | Temporary chats may be kept up to 30 days for safety; consumer default not verified |
| Business controls | Not stated | SAML SSO, SCIM, role-based access, DPA, SOC 2 |
Taken from each vendor's published policy pages at the time of our check. Policies change; the source links are at the bottom.
Entertainment platform for chatting and roleplaying with AI characters created by users.
Free stops at: A free plan exists.
Verified character.ai (opens Character.AI website in a new tab)
Free plan available US price unconfirmed
OpenAI's general-purpose AI assistant for writing, research, analysis, image generation and coding help.
Free stops at: Unlimited everyday text chats subject to abuse-prevention safeguards, Separate usage limits for file uploads,…
Free · paid from $20/mo US · checked Sep 30
Yes. Our profile documents a free plan for chatting with AI characters, with free chat styles such as PipSqueak 3 and ShortSqueak. Paid tiers (c.ai) lite and c.ai+ add extras such as memory, but we could not confirm their current prices.
Character.AI is built around user-created characters and character chat; that is its documented purpose. ChatGPT's profile lists no character feature, so we can only say ChatGPT is a general assistant, not a roleplay platform.
ChatGPT Plus is $20/month and its Free plan costs nothing. Character.AI has a free plan, but we could not read an official price for (c.ai) lite or c.ai+; a past promo cited $9.99/month, which is not a confirmed current price.
Consumer plans may use conversations to improve models unless you turn that off or use temporary chat. Business, Enterprise and API data is not used by default. Character.AI's training terms are not stated in our profile.
Only official vendor pages. No third-party benchmarks, forum threads or press were used. How we review.
compare>