Research & searchDocumented overviewLast checked Sep 29, 2026

askbowtie: Pricing, Features & Best Use Cases

Website intelligence tool that joins analytics, errors, conversions, search and ads so your AI agent can answer questions via MCP.

Is askbowtie right for you?

askbowtie is a good fit for site owners who already work with an AI agent and want analytics, errors, conversions, search and ads data answerable through MCP at no cost for up to 100,000 events a month. Based on the vendor's documentation, not on a hands-on test.

Best for: Developers using AI agents

Also a good fit for

  • Small site owners

Consider another tool if events beyond 100,000 per month need credits

Or if

  • In-app AI answers are still rolling out
  • Requires installing a tracking tag and signing in

askbowtie pricing and usage limits

Prices checked Sep 29, 2026 on the official US pricing page. Official pricing ↗ Prices and limits change often.

askbowtie pricing page with plans and prices — screenshot of the research & search AI tool, Oct 1, 2026
The official askbowtie pricing page as we saw it. askbowtie.com, captured Oct 1, 2026

Free access and trial conditions

Free tier with tracker, dashboard and MCP; the site says the full product is 100% free right now

No trial needed; no credit card to start

Paid plans: what changes as you upgrade

Free web

Free source (opens in a new tab)

Month

For: Normal-traffic sites queried by the user's own agent

Limits

  • Up to 100,000 events a month across all sites
  • Unlimited MCP queries, not metered

Includes

  • Tracker, dashboard and full MCP
  • One database per site

API included

Credits web

$10 source (opens in a new tab)

One-time

For: Heavier traffic or in-app AI answers

Limits

  • Credits never expire
  • A typical AI question costs a few credits

Includes

  • AI answers in the in-app Ask tab (rolling out)
  • Events beyond the free 100,000 per month

API included

Usage caps, credits and extra costs

$10 buys 1,000 credits for AI answers and events past 100,000 per month

Not stated

What is askbowtie, and how does it work?

askbowtie installs a small tracking tag on a site and stores analytics, errors, conversions, search and ads data in one database per site. A user's own AI agent queries it through an MCP. A free tier covers up to 100,000 events per month, with prepaid credits for AI answers and heavier traffic.

askbowtie homepage — screenshot of the research & search AI tool, Oct 1, 2026
askbowtie's official site: how the product presents itself. askbowtie.com, captured Oct 1, 2026

What you provide and what you get back

How askbowtie works: what you provide, where it runs and what you get backYOU PROVIDEYour inputPageviews, clicks, forms, errors…Google Search Console and Google…Custom calls: track, converted, e…RESEARCH & SEARCHaskbowtieWeb, APIfrom $10 (Credits)free tier availableaccount requiredchecked Sep 29, 2026YOU GET BACKThe resultAnswers from your own AI agent ov…Dashboard views of events and err…Conversion and revenue attributioninput → askbowtie → output · from the vendor's own pages, no hands-on test unless stated
What you give askbowtie and what comes back, from its documentation

You provide

  • Pageviews, clicks, forms, errors and Web Vitals from a tracking tag
  • Google Search Console and Google Ads via OAuth
  • Custom calls: track, converted, error, guardrail

You get back

  • Answers from your own AI agent over MCP
  • Dashboard views of events and errors
  • Conversion and revenue attribution

Where you can use it

Platforms
Web, API
Account
Required
Free events
100,000 per month across sites
Credit price
$10 = 1,000 credits
Auto-tracked
Pageviews, clicks, forms, errors, Web Vitals
Data sources
Site tag, Search Console, Google Ads
Install
WordPress, Shopify, GTM, Cloudflare guides

Best use cases for askbowtie

Scenarios are worked out by our editors from the documentation; the actual result depends on your input and plan.

Asking an AI agent about site traffic

Who
Developers using Claude or Cursor
You provide
The installed tracker plus the MCP connection
Expected result
Plain-language answers about traffic from the site's own database
Plan needed
Free
Limitation
Free covers up to 100,000 events per month source (opens in a new tab)

Finding checkout or JS errors

Who
Small shop owners
You provide
Automatic console, resource and network error events
Expected result
A list of errors tied to the pages where they occur
Plan needed
Free
Limitation
Errors beyond the event quota need credits source (opens in a new tab)

Analyzing which sections convert

Who
Marketers on small sites
You provide
bowtie.converted() calls with revenue and page-role markers
Expected result
Conversions joined to page sections and search or ads data
Plan needed
Free
Limitation
Needs custom calls to be added to the site source (opens in a new tab)

Joining search and ads data to site behaviour

Who
Owners running Google Ads
You provide
Connected Search Console and Google Ads grants
Expected result
One database combining search, ads and on-site events
Plan needed
Free
Limitation
Limited to Google sources source (opens in a new tab)

Key features and their practical limits

askbowtie homepage — screenshot of the research & search AI tool, Oct 1, 2026
Feature overview on the official site. askbowtie.com, captured Oct 1, 2026

One async tracking tag

Records pageviews, clicks, forms, errors and Web Vitals from a single script tag Install once and get automatic coverage

Access: All plansLimit: Must be async in the head and the domain registered source (opens in a new tab)

MCP server for agents

Lets your own agent query the site's database over MCP Questions are answered without opening a dashboard

Access: Free, unmeteredLimit: Needs an MCP-capable client source (opens in a new tab)

Event, conversion and error tracking

Provides track(), converted(), error() and guardrail() calls plus declarative page markers Ties revenue and failures to specific pages

Access: All plansLimit: Custom calls need code changes source (opens in a new tab)

Google source connections

Pulls Search Console and Google Ads data via OAuth into the site's database Joins search and ad data with on-site behaviour

Access: All plansLimit: Only Google sources are listed source (opens in a new tab)

Server-side sessions

Lets backends post page views so attribution is exact for server conversions Improves accuracy for non-browser conversions

Access: All plansLimit: Requires backend work source (opens in a new tab)

askbowtie: strengths and limits

Reasons to choose askbowtie

Check before paying for askbowtie

How to use askbowtie for querying website analytics through an AI agent

askbowtie documentation — screenshot of the research & search AI tool, Oct 1, 2026
askbowtie documentation: where the steps below come from. askbowtie.com, captured Oct 1, 2026

Set up askbowtie

  1. Sign in with the magic link at /login (no card needed)
  2. Add your domain and paste the one-line async tracker into the head of every page
  3. Connect Google Search Console and Google Ads if you want search and ads data
  4. Add the MCP server to your agent using the token from the dashboard

Example: querying website analytics through an AI agent

  1. Browse your site so pageviews and events arrive
  2. Ask your agent which pages had JS errors this week
  3. Ask which sections lead to conversions
  4. Follow up on one issue with another question

Review and export the result

  1. Confirm events appear in the dashboard after loading a page
  2. Check the event count against the 100,000 monthly free limit
Example prompt suggested by our editors (not a recorded output of the product)
Using askbowtie, which pages threw JavaScript errors in the last 7 days and how many sessions did each affect?

askbowtie API

askbowtie documentation — screenshot of the research & search AI tool, Oct 1, 2026
askbowtie documentation (continued). askbowtie.com, captured Oct 1, 2026

API access and separate billing

An API is available, billing not documented. MCP queries are unmetered on the free tier API documentation ↗

Privacy, data use and commercial rights

Summarized from the vendor's current policies; this is not legal advice and a vendor's badge is not an independent audit.

How your inputs and outputs are handled

Tracker records anonymous page paths, errors and usage; form input values are never captured and click text is scrubbed of emails, phones and card numbers

Site says raw analytics are never shipped to a model provider

Not fully read; export or delete by emailing the vendor

Commercial use and plan restrictions

Not stated

None stated

Controls for business users

  • No cookies by default
  • Connector grants encrypted at rest
  • MCP tokens stored as hash

Policies: askbowtie.com/privacy/

askbowtie alternatives by need

"Better suited" is based on documented features and pricing, not on a head-to-head test.

Claude: better suited to

ChatGPT: better suited to

Alternatives
AlternativeWhen to choose itPricingLimitation
Claude——
ChatGPT——

Explore askbowtie further

Related to askbowtie

askbowtie user reviews

No user reviews yet.

Used askbowtie? Be the first to share your experience.

Write a review

Reviews are checked by a moderator before they appear. Your email is never published. Plain text only.

Your rating (required)

Show what you made or what went wrong. Images are published only if the review is approved; location data is removed.

    askbowtie FAQ

    Is askbowtie really free?

    Yes for normal use: up to 100,000 events a month across all sites, with the tracker, dashboard and unlimited MCP queries at $0. source (opens in a new tab)

    What are credits for?

    $10 buys 1,000 credits for in-app AI answers and for events beyond the free 100,000 per month; credits never expire. source (opens in a new tab)

    Does my analytics data go to Anthropic or OpenAI?

    No. The site says data lives in a per-site database on its infrastructure and only the answer your agent asked for passes through. source (opens in a new tab)

    Does the tracker use cookies?

    No cookies by default; a session id is held in localStorage for 30 minutes of activity. source (opens in a new tab)

    Can I track several sites?

    Yes. Each site gets its own tracker and database, and the 100,000 events and the credit pool are shared across them. source (opens in a new tab)

    Sources and review methodology

    Official sources and verification dates

    Not verified: Data retention periods; US availability; Final post-launch pricing.

    How we documented and maintain this page

    Every fact about askbowtie above comes from the 3 official pages listed here, last compared on Sep 29, 2026; we have not run askbowtie ourselves, so it has no editorial score. How we check and re-check pages.

    Article updated Oct 10, 2026; prices checked Sep 29, 2026. Outbound links to vendors are plain links; we do not earn commissions. How we review · Report an error