Confronto direto · perfis verificados Sep 30, 2026

OpenAI Codex vs GitHub Copilot in 2026: coding agent or IDE assistant

Pick GitHub Copilot for help inside the editor you already use and a cloud agent that opens pull requests, from $0 to $100 a month. Pick Codex if you already pay for ChatGPT and want one agent across CLI, IDE, desktop and web. Codex privacy terms and several limits could not be verified.

Starting priceFree; Go $8/mo · Free; Pro $10/moOpenAI Codex · GitHub Copilot
Free tierYes, desktop app only · Yes, 2,000 completions/moOpenAI Codex · GitHub Copilot
EditorsVS Code, Cursor, Windsurf · 6 IDE familiesOpenAI Codex · GitHub Copilot
Training on your dataNot confirmed · Individual plans: opt-outOpenAI Codex · GitHub Copilot

We wrote this from our own profiles of OpenAI Codex, verified 2026-09-29, and GitHub Copilot, verified 2026-09-30, both built from official vendor pages; we ran no benchmark, used no third-party tests and took no vendor payments.

OpenAI Codex é melhor que GitHub Copilot? A resposta curta

Pick GitHub Copilot if you want completions and chat inside the editor you already use, plus a cloud agent that opens pull requests, with published prices from $0 to $100 a month for individuals. Pick Codex if you already pay for ChatGPT and want one coding agent across a CLI, an IDE extension, a desktop app and the web, or you want to run it in CI with an API key. Codex privacy terms and several limits could not be verified, so the privacy comparison leans on Copilot's documented terms. The two overlap: Copilot Pro+ can delegate tasks to Codex as a preview feature.

Based on our OpenAI Codex profile verified 2026-09-29 and GitHub Copilot profile verified 2026-09-30. Codex pricing page content, privacy terms, context window and sandbox details could not be confirmed, and no benchmark was run.

OpenAI Codex ou GitHub Copilot: qual usar, por tarefa

Se você só quer a resposta, é esta tabela. Tudo abaixo é a evidência dos dois perfis documentados.

Comparação lado a lado
Você querUsarPor quê
Autocomplete code while typingGitHub CopilotCopilot lists inline suggestions and next edit suggestions on every plan; Codex does not list completions
Work in JetBrains, Visual Studio or XcodeGitHub CopilotCopilot lists these IDEs; Codex lists VS Code, Cursor and Windsurf only
Run an agent in a terminalEitherCodex has an open-source CLI; Copilot CLI has interactive and programmatic modes with tool approvals
Delegate a GitHub issue and get a pull requestGitHub CopilotCopilot cloud agent works from an assigned issue or @copilot mention and opens a pull request on paid plans
Start a coding task from your phoneEitherCodex on web and iOS is listed for Plus; Copilot works on GitHub Mobile
Run an agent in CI with an API keyOpenAI CodexCodex lists an API-key option for CI; Copilot has no pay-per-token model API on the pages checked
Review pull requests automaticallyEitherCodex reviews connected GitHub repos on ChatGPT plans; Copilot reviews on paid plans. Quality not tested
Manage seats, policies and audit logs for a teamGitHub CopilotCopilot Business and Enterprise list seat management, budgets, audit logs and content exclusion; Codex lists workspace admin features
Use a free plan as a studentGitHub CopilotCopilot Student is free for verified students; Codex lists no student plan

Quem deve escolher qual

Pick Codex if you use ChatGPT and want one agent on every surface, pick Copilot for in-editor help and pull requests from $10/mo Which one? Pick Codex if Already on a ChatGPT plan CLI, IDE, desktop, web and iOS API key for CI pipelines Pick Copilot if Completions inside your own IDE Issues to pull requests on GitHub Pro $10/mo, student plan free Free $0, Go $8, Plus $20/mofree tier: yes, desktop app only Free $0, Pro $10/mofree tier: yes, 2,000 completions/mo Codex privacy terms not confirmed; no benchmark run
Which one: Codex for a ChatGPT-based agent on every surface, Copilot for in-editor help and GitHub pull requests

Escolha OpenAI Codex se

  • You already have a ChatGPT plan and want Codex usage shared with it
  • You want an open-source CLI plus a desktop app, web and iOS agent in one product
  • You want to run an agent in CI with an API key and pay API rates
  • You work in VS Code, Cursor or Windsurf

Escolha GitHub Copilot se

  • You want inline completions and chat inside VS Code, JetBrains, Visual Studio, Xcode, Eclipse or Neovim
  • Your team lives on GitHub and wants issues handed to an agent that opens pull requests
  • You need Business or Enterprise controls: content exclusion, audit logs, IP indemnity
  • You are a verified student, or want a Free plan with 2,000 completions a month

O que OpenAI Codex faz melhor e o que GitHub Copilot faz melhor

OpenAI Codex
  • One agent across CLI, IDE extension, desktop app, web and iOS
  • Open-source CLI installable by script, npm or Homebrew
  • Usage shared with the ChatGPT plan you already have
  • API-key option for CI pipelines
GitHub Copilot
  • Inline completions and chat across six IDE families
  • Cloud agent that turns issues into pull requests
  • Published team prices and governance: content exclusion, audit logs, IP indemnity
  • Free access for verified students and a Free plan with 2,000 completions a month

Preços de OpenAI Codex vs GitHub Copilot: planos e versões gratuitas

Comparação lado a lado
PlanoFerramentaPreçoLimites
Codex Free (ChatGPT)OpenAI Codex$0Desktop app only listed; usage limits apply
Codex GoOpenAI Codex$8/moDesktop app only listed; usage limits apply
Codex PlusOpenAI Codex$20/moCodex on CLI, IDE, web and iOS; usage limits apply
Codex ProOpenAI CodexFrom $100/moTiers of $100, $200 or $500 a month; mapping to usage not confirmed
Codex BusinessOpenAI Codex$25/user/mo$20 per user billed annually; usage limits apply
Codex API keyOpenAI CodexAPI ratesNo GitHub code review or Slack
Copilot FreeGitHub Copilot$02,000 completions a month; limited AI credits
Copilot StudentGitHub Copilot$0Verified students only
Copilot ProGitHub Copilot$10/mo1,500 AI credits a month; unlimited completions
Copilot Pro+GitHub Copilot$39/mo7,000 AI credits a month; premium models
Copilot MaxGitHub Copilot$100/mo20,000 AI credits a month
Copilot BusinessGitHub Copilot$19/user/mo1,900 AI credits per user, pooled
Copilot EnterpriseGitHub Copilot$39/user/mo3,900 AI credits per user, pooled; needs GitHub Enterprise Cloud

USD conforme publicado na página de preços de cada fornecedor, verificado Sep 30, 2026. Preços do OpenAI Codex na íntegra · Preços do GitHub Copilot na íntegra

Limites de uso: o que os fornecedores informam

Comparação lado a lado
OpenAI CodexGitHub Copilot
Messages / rate limitsUsage limits apply per plan; exact numbers not statedFree: 2,000 completions/mo. Pro 1,500, Pro+ 7,000, Max 20,000 AI credits/mo; completions on paid plans are unlimited
Context / file sizeNot statedNot stated
Seats / teamBusiness and Enterprise/Edu plans; limits not statedBusiness 1,900 and Enterprise 3,900 AI credits per user per month, pooled; extra usage at $0.01 per credit if admins allow

Comparação de recursos

Comparação lado a lado
RecursoOpenAI CodexGitHub Copilot
Image generationNot statedNot stated
VoiceNot statedNot stated
File uploadNot statedNot stated
Web searchNot statedNot stated
Agents / toolsLocal CLI agent and cloud agent; GitHub code review and Slack on ChatGPT plansIDE agent mode, Copilot CLI, cloud agent, code review, MCP servers; cloud agent also reachable from Slack and Teams
APIAPI key billed at API ratesCopilot SDK; no standalone pay-per-token model API found
Mobile appsiOS on the Plus planGitHub Mobile
IDE integrationVS Code, Cursor, WindsurfVS Code, Visual Studio, JetBrains, Eclipse, Xcode, Neovim

Privacidade e treinamento com dados

Comparação lado a lado
OpenAI CodexGitHub Copilot
Training on your dataNot confirmedFree, Pro and Pro+ may be used for training unless you opt out; Business and Enterprise not used
RetentionNot confirmedBusiness/Enterprise IDE chat and completions: engagement data kept two years; github.com chat retains prompts for thread history
Business controlsWorkspace admin features listed on Business; details not statedContent exclusion, public code filter, audit logs, budgets, MCP allow lists, IP indemnity, Data Protection Agreement

Extraído das páginas de política publicadas por cada fornecedor no momento da nossa verificação. As políticas mudam; os links das fontes estão no final.

Trocar entre OpenAI Codex e GitHub Copilot: o que é mantido

OpenAI Codex → GitHub CopilotContinua valendo
  • Natural-language task prompts and the habit of reviewing diffs before committing
  • Terminal workflow: Copilot CLI also runs commands and edits files after approval
  • Pull-request based review of agent work
O que você perde
  • Open-source CLI and desktop app
  • Usage shared with your ChatGPT plan
  • API-key use in CI
GitHub Copilot → OpenAI CodexContinua valendo
  • Natural-language task prompts and diff review
  • A terminal agent workflow
  • Code review on connected GitHub repositories
O que você perde
  • Inline completions in JetBrains, Visual Studio, Xcode, Eclipse and Neovim
  • Copilot chat on github.com and the issue-to-pull-request cloud agent
  • Content exclusion, IP indemnity and Copilot's published team controls

Prós e contras

OpenAI Codex
  • Free plan available to try Codex
  • Several surfaces: CLI, IDE, app, web
  • Same usage shared with your ChatGPT plan
  • API-key option for CI
  • Usage limits apply per plan
  • API-key use lacks GitHub code review and Slack
  • Free and Go plans list the desktop app only
  • Some models retire Oct 14, 2026 (GPT-5.5)
GitHub Copilot
  • Works inside existing IDEs and github.com
  • Free tier with 2,000 completions a month
  • Cloud agent and CLI produce commits and pull requests
  • Business and Enterprise data not used for training
  • AI-credit cost depends on model and tokens, hard to predict
  • Flex allotment may change over time
  • Individual plans may be used for training unless you opt out
  • Not available for GitHub Enterprise Server

As duas ferramentas

OpenAI Codex

Web · Desktop · Mobile

Ainda sem avaliações de usuários

OpenAI's coding agent for the CLI, IDE extension, desktop app, web and iOS, included in ChatGPT plans or billed by API.

O plano gratuito termina em: Desktop app only listed, Usage limits apply

Listed Ainda não avaliada

Verificado developers.openai.com (abre o site de OpenAI Codex em uma nova aba)

Grátis · pago a partir de $8/mo EUA · verificado Sep 29

GitHub Copilot

Web · Desktop · Mobile

Ainda sem avaliações de usuários

Assistente de programação com IA do GitHub, com sugestões de código, chat e recursos de agente em editores, no terminal e no GitHub.

O plano gratuito termina em: 2,000 completions per month, Limited chat and agent usage (allowance of GitHub AI Credits)

Listed Ainda não avaliada

Verificado github.com (abre o site de GitHub Copilot em uma nova aba)

Grátis · pago a partir de $10/mo EUA · verificado Sep 30

Abrir a tabela de comparação ao vivo

OpenAI Codex ou GitHub Copilot: como escolher

  • Already pay for ChatGPT? Codex usage is shared with that plan, so start there.
  • Want completions while you type? Only Copilot lists inline suggestions.
  • Use JetBrains, Visual Studio or Xcode? Choose Copilot; Codex lists VS Code, Cursor and Windsurf.
  • Need an agent in CI on an API key? Codex lists that option.
  • Buying for a team that needs audit logs and IP indemnity? Copilot Business is $19/user/mo and lists both.
  • Privacy is the deciding factor? Copilot documents its terms; for Codex we could not confirm them.

Perguntas frequentes

Is Codex or GitHub Copilot cheaper?

Copilot has the lower entry price among paid plans: Pro is $10/mo against $20/mo for ChatGPT Plus, which carries Codex on the CLI, IDE, web and iOS. Codex also has a $8/mo Go plan, but it lists the desktop app only. Both have a free plan. Neither price is a flat guarantee: Codex has usage limits per plan and Copilot meters chat and agents in AI credits.

Can I use Codex for free?

Yes. A Free ChatGPT plan includes Codex, but only the desktop app is listed and usage limits apply. Free and Go plans have fewer surfaces than Plus.

Is GitHub Copilot free?

Yes. Copilot Free gives 2,000 completions a month and a limited allowance of AI credits to individuals without an organization seat. Verified students get Copilot Student, and verified teachers and maintainers of popular open-source projects may get Pro free.

Does GitHub Copilot train on my code?

Not on Business or Enterprise. On Free, Pro and Pro+, prompts, suggestions and code snippets may be used for training unless you opt out in Copilot settings. For Codex we could not confirm training use or retention, because its privacy page returned a 404.

Which has better code review?

Both offer it, with different limits. Codex reviews connected GitHub repositories automatically on ChatGPT plans, not with an API key. Copilot reviews pull requests on GitHub and diffs in editors on paid plans only, and review draws on AI credits and, from 2026-06-01, GitHub Actions minutes. We ran no quality comparison.

Can I use Codex inside GitHub Copilot?

Partly. Copilot lists delegating tasks to third-party agents, including OpenAI Codex, as a preview on Pro+, Max, Business and Enterprise. Exact behavior was not tested.

Which editors does each support?

Codex lists VS Code, Cursor and Windsurf extensions plus a CLI and desktop app. Copilot lists VS Code, Visual Studio, JetBrains, Eclipse, Xcode and Neovim, with feature coverage differing by IDE.

Fontes

Somente páginas oficiais de fornecedores. Não usamos benchmarks de terceiros, threads de fóruns nem imprensa. Como avaliamos.